PDA

View Full Version : Diff Washers, why not use glue?

Appie53
01-06-2012, 08:46 PM
Dear Guy's, still think my diff is slipping (Ansmann). So why not glue the washers on the hubs? Is it possible that these washers slip on the hubs, because grease is everywhere? When diff is set to tied, would that happen?
Thanks for your support:)

Appie53
02-06-2012, 11:58 AM
Would you give me some advice on this, very appriciated!!!:):)

almunro
02-06-2012, 12:03 PM
Im no diff expert but dont glue them. Tighten up the diff but until its locked, then back it off 1/8 to a 1/4 turn and see how it goes.

To see if you diff is slipping, hold the spur and one of the rear wheels so they wont move. Now turn the other wheel, it shouldnt turn (no diff slip) or at very least take quite a bit of force to turn it.

Running a diff too tight is better than too loose, as it wont damage the diff. It will simply not allow the car to rotate in the corners as well. Too loose and you will ruin your diff.

neallewis
02-06-2012, 03:21 PM
I've not built an ansmann diff myself, but i believe the design is similar to the associated ball diff. A well built diff shouldn't need the rings gluing to the outdrives, but if you have some wear in the components, it could be causing your problem. Check the spring, thrust bearing and that the bolt is straight. You could also take some fine wet and dry paper and sand any groves out of both sides of the diff rings, on a flat surface.

Saying that, back in the day, old schumacher cat diffs used to need the rings gluing to the plastic outdrives, which you did with CA glue. So it does work in this situation. You need to unsure you glue then perfectly true and flat though. If they are not sitting flat then you will get uneven wear and feel to the diff.