PDA

View Full Version : running in electric motors???

levontraut
01-07-2012, 08:07 AM
Hi Guys.

i have ordered a few bits for my buggy. i am very new to this electric stuff so need all the help and info i can get.

i heard that you must run in a electric motor...???!!!??
is this true?? if it is, how does one do it please??

i have no idea on how to do it so all help will be greatly apreciated.

setup:

120 amp sct pro H/W
5.5T brushless H/W
2s lipo

cheers
levon

RobW
01-07-2012, 08:52 AM
Hi Levon

I've been running brushless for a few years in various electric classes and I've never heard of peolpe running in brushless motors.

We used to run brushed motors in at a low voltage to bed the brushes in but not sure why you would need to do it with a brushless motor:confused:. I stand by to be corrected though:)

Rob

levontraut
01-07-2012, 10:23 AM
Hi Levon

I've been running brushless for a few years in various electric classes and I've never heard of peolpe running in brushless motors.

We used to run brushed motors in at a low voltage to bed the brushes in but not sure why you would need to do it with a brushless motor:confused:. I stand by to be corrected though:)

Rob

maybe it is that then and i got my story all mixed up.

cheers rob.

levon

hotrodchris
01-07-2012, 02:43 PM
No need to run brushless motors in but you need to bed a diff in!

MrMagoo
01-07-2012, 05:42 PM
No need to run brushless motors in but you need to bed a diff in!

If it's a ball diff... never bothered with the 'Rango gear diffs.

levontraut
01-07-2012, 09:02 PM
the gears i will be putting on the motor are the old ones that have not been raced but have been played with in the road with a 15T brushed motor. so in a way that have been run in. i think the best thing to do, is use the std gearing as a base mark and go from there.

i have no idea what i am in for till it is all fixed and sorted out. and then taken down the road.