PDA

View Full Version : budget setup advice

RichHarvey
10-07-2012, 05:59 PM
Hi all. I'm hoping to come along this Sunday and have a look, my 7 year old son is interested in the racing (me too but don't tell the missus!)
We have had a couple of losi's in the past but have since sold on.

I was just after some advice on the best budget option to race at torch. And rough cost ect.
Or is any one selling some old kit at the mo that will get us started.
I live in fareham.

Many thanks in advance Rich and Harvey.

jamiekerr14
10-07-2012, 06:09 PM
Hi Rich

Firstly you are more than welcome to pop down sunday and have a look and chat! Well it depends on what class you and your son would want to do. As there is 2WD + 4WD

2wd is a little trickier to master at 1st as it requires a bit more of a smoother finger and so on. But its a great class to learn and really help you progress as a driver I think. 4wd is great fun it can be a little easier-specially if the track is damp/wet. So it depends on your preference, for me if you want to do it on more of a budget I would maybe start off down the 2WD route. As there generally a tad cheaper and a little less to maintain. Im sure others will chime in a help too!

Jamie

RichHarvey
10-07-2012, 06:15 PM
Thanks Jamie
Yes was thinking the same at starting off 2wd, on maintenance cost reasons ect.

lordnikon
10-07-2012, 06:41 PM
Welcome Rich & son :thumbsup:

I started again last august so coming up to 12 months, started with an ansmann mad monkey then went to an ansmann X2C. To be honest in hindsight it was abit of a false economy. Both great cars but with the upgrades needed on them they are then the same sort of price as the other manufacturers.

I've recently moved up to a Team Durango DEX210, they are popular at the club (always a bonus if you get caught short for a part !) The Schumachers are also popular, their SV2 is a very capable car and fairly new so parts should be available for a long time.