PDA

View Full Version : Unusual Canon question

Spoolio
07-05-2008, 05:56 AM
Finally opened my new 40D but. The seal on the box had already been broken, fair enough - the woman in the shop said they do that to make sure the manuals are packed with the unit. However, the packaging looked a bit "disturbed" and when I have taken the camera out I've noticed there are no plastic films on either of the LCDs. This strikes me as odd. Am I just being paranoid that I may have bought a returned product or are they all like this?

losixxx
07-05-2008, 07:13 AM
i work in the industry m8, return it to the shop you bought it from.
the box should never leave the shop with seal broken, thats why the seals there. and for them to say there just checking the instruction manual is horlicks....

CAClark
07-05-2008, 07:14 AM
I personally wouldn't be happy. Despite what they say, you should recieve the box with the Canon security seals in place, and the fact that the plastic protector sheets have been removed from the camera body suggests the camera has been taken out of all its packaging.

If it were me, I would ask for a replacement that is still sealed. If you are happy to keep it as long as it all works, then it may be preferable to go with convenience.

It's not right though, it should be unopened when you get it really.

Cheers!

Ps. Losi said the same, so what he said, cos he used less words! ^^^^^^^^^

stegger
07-05-2008, 07:58 AM
Sounds like they are trying to offload a demonstrator model:thumbdown:

Southwell
07-05-2008, 08:02 AM
Either go back to the store and demand a sealed replacement or go back and say you will keep it for a 20% discount ;) although i would ask for a new one as some staff would have treated it like crap.

jimmy
07-05-2008, 09:07 AM