PDA

View Full Version : little ESC-position-mod on an X10


Lowie
27-05-2008, 01:31 PM
I did some little modifications on my pred in order to get all my electrics into the chassis without space-issues.

I wrote a little building-article (http://www.the-pred.co.uk/forum/index.php?topic=408) on the-pred.co.uk but here are some pics allready.

http://ludodg.com/RC/Predator/ESC-mod/resized/DSCN2406_320x240.JPG

http://ludodg.com/RC/Predator/ESC-mod/resized/DSCN2408_320x240.JPG

http://ludodg.com/RC/Predator/ESC-mod/resized/DSCN2410_320x240.JPG


for more info, see the linked article (http://www.the-pred.co.uk/forum/index.php?topic=408) on the-pred.co.uk (http://www.the-pred.co.uk/index.php)

darryl
27-05-2008, 02:07 PM
looks good lowie but will the shell still fit ok :confused:

Lowie
27-05-2008, 02:08 PM
yup, it does :)

I'll take and post a picture later this evening

darryl
27-05-2008, 02:11 PM
look forward to seeing it

footey
27-05-2008, 02:19 PM
u dont need to build a full platform like that u can just build it on to the servo which is what i have done with my gtb in my x11 i have used a x10 shell as it is slightly diffrent not sure the x11 shell will fit

darryl
27-05-2008, 02:33 PM
u dont need to build a full platform like that u can just build it on to the servo which is what i have done with my gtb in my x11 i have used a x10 shell as it is slightly diffrent not sure the x11 shell will fit
shane any chance of a pic for of it, as really need to put my gtb in:)

footey
27-05-2008, 02:37 PM
i dont have a camera m8 but it is easy to do erm twins have done it i think if not im sure theres pics on pred forum

darryl
27-05-2008, 02:37 PM
cheers mate will pm them :thumbsup:

footey
27-05-2008, 02:40 PM
basically m8 u just use double sided tape on half the esc and prop it against motor over the centre shaft

mattym0310
27-05-2008, 03:02 PM
or you can make a little lexan platform from the servo, over the prop shaft, and double side it to the chassis on the other side, if that makes sense??

tobbe
27-05-2008, 03:13 PM
Pictures when a GTB is mounted in a Pred on the servo please. I tried it on my Pred but it's impossible to make the shell fit then.

footey
27-05-2008, 03:15 PM
no m8 i have done it have u taken the little black spacers out from under the fan as this will help also is ur shell fasten by clips or velcro as the velcro sits the shell slightly higher

tobbe
27-05-2008, 04:57 PM
I don't have a fan and the body is fasten with clips;)

Edit: oOps, I missed this

basically m8 u just use double sided tape on half the esc and prop it against motor over the centre shaft

Belsten
27-05-2008, 07:45 PM
Its also pretty easy to mount a low profile servo on its end and fit the gtb on the chassis. Im runnin the micro spektrum receiver also on the chassis. PT slots in no problem too

Tom3012
27-05-2008, 08:59 PM
lowie... you need an X11 spur gear my friend! the old X10 ones are incorrectly manufactured (something to do with the pitch and the amount of teeth)... i do like your speedo mount though, nicely done!!...

all i did with min was got some 3mm plastic off ebay... cut out 2 small squares (one a bit larger than the other) stuck them together then stuck the to the servo with the larger square overlapping the prop shaft..

hope that makes sense?

Tom

Lowie
27-05-2008, 09:12 PM
Well, I thought of doing a similar thing, but my low-profile servo made this a bit difficult.
Also, with the use of aluminium I got an extra cooling aid ... so I went for the metal plate.
And last argument: I know double-side tape can be very strong and mine is fine but not that strong and I want to minimize risks, so I prefer everything bolted.

About the spurgear: untill now, I haven't had any problems with the original spur, but I do have two white ones (X11-ones offcourse) in my spare-box. For the moment I'm still training and tuning but the moment I decide to drive in competition, I will certainly change this spur.

I have done some completely other competition on an international level (nothing comparable with RC: archery) and I know that it is in those very tense moments, that errors, little failures in equipment can cost much. So I always try to go on the safe side, I guess. Optimal preparation makes driving on the track less stressy and easier, I think :)

rcracer
27-05-2008, 09:19 PM
I did some little modifications on my pred in order to get all my electrics into the chassis without space-issues.

I wrote a little building-article (http://www.the-pred.co.uk/forum/index.php?topic=408) on the-pred.co.uk but here are some pics allready.

http://ludodg.com/RC/Predator/ESC-mod/resized/DSCN2406_320x240.JPG

http://ludodg.com/RC/Predator/ESC-mod/resized/DSCN2408_320x240.JPG

http://ludodg.com/RC/Predator/ESC-mod/resized/DSCN2410_320x240.JPG


for more info, see the linked article (http://www.the-pred.co.uk/forum/index.php?topic=408) on the-pred.co.uk (http://www.the-pred.co.uk/index.php)

looks like a real sturdy platform for your esc :thumbsup: , i'm sure zedman did something similar

mattym0310
27-05-2008, 09:23 PM
no he just bent a peice of metal into a Z shape and glued or velcro'd it to the chassis next to the servo so the esc sits on top of the servo. if that makes sense?

rcracer
27-05-2008, 09:49 PM
oh right i sort of see what you mean :lol:

Tom3012
27-05-2008, 10:26 PM
Well, I thought of doing a similar thing, but my low-profile servo made this a bit difficult.
Also, with the use of aluminium I got an extra cooling aid ... so I went for the metal plate.
And last argument: I know double-side tape can be very strong and mine is fine but not that strong and I want to minimize risks, so I prefer everything bolted.

About the spurgear: untill now, I haven't had any problems with the original spur, but I do have two white ones (X11-ones offcourse) in my spare-box. For the moment I'm still training and tuning but the moment I decide to drive in competition, I will certainly change this spur.

I have done some completely other competition on an international level (nothing comparable with RC: archery) and I know that it is in those very tense moments, that errors, little failures in equipment can cost much. So I always try to go on the safe side, I guess. Optimal preparation makes driving on the track less stressy and easier, I think :)

totally understand where your coming from lowie and i do like your plate!! good to hear you have the X11 spurs ready too!

Northy
28-05-2008, 07:47 AM
Mmmmmm, there wasn't that much wrong with the X10 spur gears to be fair, I did at least a whole season on one! It's all about the meshing IMHO.

G

Alfonzo
28-05-2008, 11:59 AM
One more for the pot - I mounted my speedo directly on the chassis, but this required one of the servo ears to be cut, leaving the remaing ear and servo tape to do the job (which it has, no problems). Not totally ideal, but it does result in a very low C of G - which is nice.

Both me and my brother have had failed X10 spur gears, although we got a fair bit of racing done before failure, maybe half a season or so. FYI the X11 spur gear will rub on the 'Jesus Pin' rear brace unless you file / dremel some ally away.

Looking forward to hearing more about these 'high volume' shocks being tested..

Alfonzo
28-05-2008, 12:02 PM
And whilst I'm here - I've just remembered, wasn't there a nicely executed mod from a French guy who mounted his servo 'end on' (i.e standing upright) which gave him loads of space to mount the speedo directly to the chassis? It looked good.

footey
28-05-2008, 01:10 PM
yes but lewis owner of xtreme has also done it

Lowie
28-05-2008, 03:25 PM
And whilst I'm here - I've just remembered, wasn't there a nicely executed mod from a French guy who mounted his servo 'end on' (i.e standing upright) which gave him loads of space to mount the speedo directly to the chassis? It looked good.

You mean like this?

http://ludodg.com/RC/Predator/ESC-mod/resized_1/DSCN2394_640x480.JPG

jeff jenkins
28-05-2008, 03:49 PM
i have also got my gtb mounted on the chassis and my servo is standing up.

Alfonzo
28-05-2008, 05:50 PM
Yeah - that's the one Lowie. Just read your full post on the-pred, so I know the score with your setup now. Surprised you had thermal issues with the Mamba though.

Jeff - how you getting on with your Pred? Used it in anger yet?

jeff jenkins
28-05-2008, 06:00 PM
Jeff - how you getting on with your Pred? Used it in anger yet?

what do you mean..lol

footey
28-05-2008, 06:21 PM
have u actully raced it yet:) i think he means

jeff jenkins
28-05-2008, 06:32 PM
nope waiting on parts. takes awhile to get them to me.:(

ads0021
28-05-2008, 07:02 PM
I've got my low profile servo on its side. Loads of room!! Been running it like this for a few months now with no probs!



http://www.oople.com/rc/photos/nif2008/4wd/bigimages/OOP_6820.jpg

darryl
28-05-2008, 07:19 PM
that is bloody neat what servo posts you using???

mattym0310
28-05-2008, 07:52 PM
Its Lewis' car. I believe it's custom made. Team Xtreme were planning on releasing a conversion kit for this however, I havnt heard anything more of this so cannot confirm if it will happen

Alfonzo
28-05-2008, 08:17 PM
what do you mean..lol

lol - I meant have you used it yet, not are you angry yet! :D

ads0021
28-05-2008, 08:50 PM
I used a short servo post mounted sideways onto the side of the tub on the outside and a cut down motor mount tube(ally one not the stainless one) on the inside. Then drill and counter sink the chassis where you want the servo to go. It does made a lot more space. The photo doesn't really show. I think you could probably get a normal size spectrum rec in. The other thing I've done is run the speedo wires out the bottom of the speedo and through the spine in the chassis.

Chequered Flag Racing
02-06-2008, 09:18 AM
I've got my low profile servo on its side. Loads of room!! Been running it like this for a few months now with no probs!





have you opened up the chassis to lower the servo even further?

seen a picture somewere with that done but can't find it




mattym0310,
Its Lewis' car. I believe it's custom made. Team Xtreme were planning on releasing a conversion kit for this however, I havnt heard anything more of this so cannot confirm if it will happen

any news on a conversion kit ?

jeff jenkins
02-06-2008, 03:17 PM
really there is no need for a conversion kit as it is simple to make the mounts your self. its a matter of drilling holes.. but it would be nice if there was so that way you have the correct mounts and not have to make them yourself.:thumbsup:

Lowie
02-06-2008, 03:27 PM
have you opened up the chassis to lower the servo even further?

seen a picture somewere with that done but can't find it
...
"open up the chassis"? What do you mean by this?
Any pictures of this?

about this servo-mount conversion-kit:
indeed very easy to make DIY, but I do know some guys that are VERY good in RC racing but can't screw a nut on a car without breaking some fingers :)
So such a kit can be very handy.

Thinking about it. If anyone wants some, I could make such a kit, by making some fitting special mounting-posts out of plexi. I'll try to make some and make some pictures, lol.

Northy
02-06-2008, 03:29 PM
really there is no need for a conversion kit as it is simple to make the mounts your self. its a matter of drilling holes.. but it would be nice if there was so that way you have the correct mounts and not have to make them yourself.:thumbsup:

Now are you sure? :confused: :lol::lol::lol::lol:

G

Lee
02-06-2008, 03:35 PM
G, he used to be indecisive but now he`s not so sure :woot:

josh_smaxx
02-06-2008, 03:38 PM
G, he used to be indecisive but now he`s not so sure :woot:

:thumbsup: Iv heard that one to many times before :p

Lee
02-06-2008, 03:45 PM
I never said i was the first to say it :lol::woot:

josh_smaxx
02-06-2008, 03:45 PM
I never said i was the first to say it :lol::woot:

I know, its still a good joke, dont worry :p

jeff jenkins
02-06-2008, 03:59 PM
lol... what i meant was it would be nice to have the conversion for the mounts. this way you wont have to make them but if you do make them they are not too hard to make yourself.lol

jeff jenkins
02-06-2008, 04:02 PM
here is a pic of lewis' car with the servo dropped even further.
http://www.oople.com/rc/photos/nif2008/4wd/bigimages/OOP_6823.jpg

Chequered Flag Racing
02-06-2008, 04:11 PM
here is a pic of lewis' car with the servo dropped even further.


that's the one I was looking for :thumbsup:

mattym0310
02-06-2008, 05:04 PM
Lewis doesn't do this anymore, he has it set out the same, just isn't low enough to have to cut through the chassis [it just sits on top].

ads0021
02-06-2008, 06:17 PM
As mattym0310 says you don't have to cut the chassis. Just did it for fun really and to get the servo a fraction lower. Its not hard to do. Bit of masking tape, a dremel and a steady hand. I'll mention the mounting kit to Lewis in the mornig. It souldn't be a problem to organise.

darryl
02-06-2008, 06:27 PM
As mattym0310 says you don't have to cut the chassis. Just did it for fun really and to get the servo a fraction lower. Its not hard to do. Bit of masking tape, a dremel and a steady hand. I'll mention the mounting kit to Lewis in the mornig. It souldn't be a problem to organise.
it would certainly help a lot of us out mounting brushless systems :)