PDA

View Full Version : new to buggy racing need help

carl_rcbuggy
17-07-2008, 07:22 AM
Hello i am new to buggy racing i have just ordered myself a rc10 b4 buggy. i used to do touring car racing about 10 years ago so i no abit about the speed controls ect but alot of it has all changed now. i have around £1000 to get set up, so i can get a pritty good set up i am just unsure what radio gear is the best now for around £200 i have been looking at the futaba 3gr 3 ch 2.4ghz radio gear, with the new radio gear do you still use cristals becuase i read somewhere they dont how does this work? i have been looking at team orion batterys 4200 for £50 for 6 cells or matched corolly ep4600 betterys for £57 are these good batterys. i want a brushless set up so i am interested with the lrp sphere speed controler with a lrp vector 7.5 turn motor. For the charger i have been lookin at the lrp pulsar 3 competition charger do i also need a discharger? does this set up seem good what i am buying or would you change anythin on there. also what else will i need what tyres do i need for brca ? any help will be great

many thanks carl

MiCk B.
17-07-2008, 09:01 AM
Hey,

Overall you seem to have a good idea about what you need.

Radio gear is very much a personal choice. If you can try to hold the tranny in your hand, all the top ones have nearly all the same functions, so it can come down to what is comfortable for you.
(I personally run a Sawna Exzes, cos I like the feel of it. At the Euros I noticed that Neil Cragg was running Futaba.)
The 2.4ghz radios do not use xtals that you would know from years ago. The tranny and receiver are 'bound' together. So when they are turned on the just know to work together, not to get too technical.

Batteries either that you have mentioned will be grand for racing, and will give you more power and duration then you thought possible 10 years ago.