PDA

View Full Version : new to off road

atomicandy
30-08-2008, 04:37 PM
hi all i am a new member to oople and the world of off roading. i have just purchased a b44 and need some advice on general setups ie, gearing, what motor classes are there and which motor is reccomended. the servo i have avaliable a futaba 9550 servo is this ok to use and if not what is reccomended. i usually race touring cars so am a complete novice.:blush: any advice appreciated thanks for reading look forward to some help

jimmy
30-08-2008, 05:56 PM
Hi mate, welcome!

Where abouts are you? in the UK there's nothing but modified class for 4WD - local clubs etc might run a limited class for 2wd (540 / 19 turn) but generally 4WD is all fast as you like.
What gear do you run in your touring cars? if you want to run brushed then something like a 12 turn orion vantage is a good start with plenty of power / speed for a 4WD. even with 4WD you're limited in the ammount of power you can use just because of the track.
If you're thinking of brushless then probably a 6.5 sintered would be good - but I've only ever run bonded nosram stuff (5.5 and 6.5) so I'm not too up on the latest stuff - I've run brushed all year in my 4wd cars.

The futaba servo is on the limits but should be fine. A few people have used them to good effect. I ran the slightly faster and more powerful KO low profile a lot which was very good - I've bought the latest Futaba which is also a bit more powerful but yours should be perfectly fine. Some people like really fast steering but I don't mind these slightly slower smaller servos., and the low torque isn't a big deal.

atomicandy
31-08-2008, 12:47 PM