PDA

View Full Version : New engine tight

burton
05-10-2008, 09:58 AM
Hello,

Should a new engine be so tight that it turns to certain point (top of cylinder) and then seems to be stuck and takes alot of effort to move it again, starter box can not move it.

Only way to move it is for the engine to be out and move it with a tool on the end of the crank.

Yes I am new to this.

Thanks

Stu
05-10-2008, 10:11 AM
Yeah - normal.

Warm the engine with a hair drier or heat gun, that will free it up.

Drop a bit of 2-in-1 oil (just a tiny bit - like a couple of drops) down the plug-hole.

Make sure the starter box has spooled up speed before pressing the car fully down onto the flywheel.

Make sure you follow the running in advice that will be with your engine - it's critical.

Here now will probably follow a lot of posts giving conflicting advice about running engines in........

DCM
05-10-2008, 10:45 AM
I agree Stu, warm the engine first, lube the piston and liner, and just back the glow plug out 1/4 of a turn to reduce compression..... follow guidelines for running in the engine.

jimmy
05-10-2008, 11:13 AM
I'm about to do the same - I was setting up the starterbox yesterday and it had no chance at all of moving it. I warmed it up (quite a bit) with a heat gun and it turned over a lot easier.

franki
05-10-2008, 11:38 AM
Back the glow plug off a bit! as already said hmmmmmm nitro that was fun :woot:

bkelsall
05-10-2008, 12:20 PM
Yeah, if you find it's a real SOB to start with the plug tight you can fire it with the plug loose - just remember to keep the throttle open whilst you tighten it as it wont idle with the loose plug.

burton
05-10-2008, 08:55 PM