PDA

View Full Version : BMax2 squealing on set-off - presume this is slipper clutch?

Ashlandchris
10-06-2014, 02:30 PM
Have recently bought a 2nd hand BMax2 which I have tried for the first time today. Drives lovely, but squeals a little when going from a standing start. I presume that is the slipper clutch and it just needs tightening a little or should it be stripped and the plates sanded?

I am pretty new to this and haven't had to deal with a slipper before

Many thanks for your anticipated replies

Big G
10-06-2014, 02:47 PM
the slipper doesn't tend to make weird noises and omits a very familiar slip noise.

The diff on the other hand can make a horrible squeal when it's slipping and the slipper clutch isn't doing it's job.

That is assuming you have a ball diff and not a geared diff in there.

AfroP
10-06-2014, 03:01 PM
Rule of thumb when buying any car second hand

strip and rebuild as soon as you get it

this way you can address any issues and see any internal working parts that may be faulty

Danny Harrison
10-06-2014, 03:49 PM
As above, likely the diff. Id replace the balls n plates even if it wasnt squeeling with it being used.

Wont do any harm sanding the slipper pad too but not the plates:lol:

neallewis
10-06-2014, 04:09 PM
Assuming it has a ball diff of course. later kits came with a gear diff. Which do you have?

If your slipper is too tight and/or the (ball) diff too loose, then you get a barking sound on acceleration and punching the throttle.

The slipper doesn't tend to make a squealing noise, but you can hear its slipping if its loose enough.

Metal idlers can be quite noisy/whiny, but again not a squeal.

Ashlandchris
10-06-2014, 04:33 PM
Many thanks all. Had the gearbox apart and the gear diff and all internals seem fine.
Think I have found the culprit however, it looks like the spur gear is stripped so I obviously didn't set the motor right.
I will sand the slipper pads when I replace the spur - looks like No.5 have them in stock