PDA

View Full Version : tuning

Dickylew
20-02-2009, 06:25 PM
hi all, got a Hobao Hyper 7 black around xmas time and need advice on tuning the engine.

Ive started to lean it out a bit but after running about 5 minutes the engine cuts out.
I notice at the top of the glow its fizzing with fuel slightly and the engine seems to be a bit lumpy but not too bad at full throttle.

Would this indicate that it is running too rich?

Where should i start? leaning the main throttle or the low speed throttle first, bit concerned as im still learning and dont want to risk overheating the engine by running too lean.

Any advice would be appreciated.

:confused:

gramey
20-02-2009, 11:04 PM
:eh?:Stupid question but have you had the glow plug out and if so made sure you put the copper washer back when replacing it? It shouldn't really be fizzing with fuel. Also if you've had the glow in and out several times whilst breaking the engine in the washer may have become hard and compressed so not sealing the plug properly.
Did you get a manual with it as it should explain in there how best to set it up and where approximately you should end up with a fully run in engine, i.e. factory setting is 3 1/2 turns out and once broken in should be in the area of 2 1/2 turns or similar.
Try and find the factory default settings for your engine as this will give you a base setting to return to if you get stuck.
Personally I would suggest setting your idle up first so that the car will happily tick over for about 30 - 40 seconds without stalling. Then gently accelerate the car and run it round for a bit to clear any excess fuel and then give it a short burst of full throttle. If it's coughing and spluttering, or appears to be holding back, whilst at full throttle it's more than likely running too rich and you need to adjust the HSN 1/8 of a turn at a time to get it nice and crisp.