PDA

View Full Version : Why so slim?

loose
19-04-2007, 11:25 AM
I know I'm new to the r/c scene but can anyone tell me why lots of new cars seem to be infactuated with getting slimmer?

Are there any huge improvements to handling by keeping the weight as narrow as possible? I only ask cos whilst its great having new cars like the Aero (which undoubtedly looks like its the real deal) I cant help thinking the thin bodies look a bit pants! I saw a Boss Cat at one of the vintage meetings and that looked the dogs! Loved it!

I suppose its the old Kate Moss or Kate Winslet debate. I like a few curves personally!

;)

Lee Martin
19-04-2007, 11:28 AM
hey....

its all about the weight distribution.........

a slimmer car has all the weight together, making the car alot more nimble...allowing the weight to transfer quicker and in effect change direction faster.

i have also found having the weight down the centre reduced grip roll and allows the car to be a little more forgiving due to not wanting to roll.....going round the track like a 'spider' lol.

i also think the slimbodies look cool!

but thats jut me!

Lee
19-04-2007, 11:28 AM
A narrower chassis will provide greater ground clearance as the car rolls, so it will not bottom out.

they dont look as nice but thats just flavour of the month for now

Lee Martin
19-04-2007, 11:37 AM
wait to you seemine all Tel Shelled up...then u will say it looks nice

BenG
19-04-2007, 11:38 AM
For some reason I don't see slim cars as Kate moss. She is f'ugly. Plus she is a crack head. If had to race a [notso]supermodel I'd choose her, as she is aerodynamic, and slim :D:D:D

Wraggy
19-04-2007, 11:44 AM
wait to you seemine all Tel Shelled up...then u will say it looks nice
dont you do you your own shell painting now then lee ???

Chris Doughty
19-04-2007, 11:44 AM
Pidge is spot on.