PDA

View Full Version : What motor?

BattleCat
31-01-2010, 12:55 AM
Hi guys,

Just thought Id pop on and say hello. I used to race at Eden Park about 17 years ago with my old Cougar 2 Works back in the day when Kevin Moore used to race and Dave Evans used to supply the spares. I found it in the loft and thought about getting back into racing as I used to love it, but notice quite a lots changed ;) I popped down the track with a friend at the beginning of Jan to have a peek and immediately wanted to start up again! Funny thing is I didnt see anyone under the age of 30. Guess you guys didnt stop when I did :)

Thought spares might be an issue so have just got myself a Cat SX (first 4wd and LIPO!) and all the kit except the engine & speed controller. I'm a little new to this brushless/lipo talk and am confused a little by the windings. Back in the day a 17 turn modified motor was ok and a 13 was rapid. Looking at the brushless, its confused me a bit. I've been told the Novak Havoc Pro/Ballistic brushless system is pretty tasty. Just wondering what you guys run or recommend for the Cat at Eden Park? is 5.5 too fast?

Any help appreciated!

Many thanks,

Brad

Big G
31-01-2010, 03:03 AM
I think the rough rule of thumb is times the brushless wind by 2 and that gives a rough comparison to a brushed motor. ie 5.5 = 11 brushed.

someone else might have a different idea.

I found the 5.5 a nice outdoor motor, although I've never raced at eden.

tiny tom
31-01-2010, 04:45 AM
I run a catsx with losi speedo, and I find a 5.5 is to much and went back down to a 6.5. But in the wet I would go down to a 8.5

simoncook
31-01-2010, 10:31 AM
I agree with Tom. 5.5 would be a bit quick. For starting out again I would use a 8.5 or a 7.5. With what has been said about multipling the number of winds by 2 to get the brushed equivalent is about right, but lipo muddies the waters, as you get more punch from them.