PDA

View Full Version : Laptop: Do you sleep or shut down?

Big G
05-12-2010, 10:03 PM
Personally having a Macbook I never shut my laptop down. The only time it restarts is for updates, but my Mum and many other people I know always shut theirs down once they're done using it.

What about you?

DCM
05-12-2010, 10:16 PM
Depends on how long you are leaving it 'down' for, if it is up to an hour or so, put it to sleep, but your using electricity, so shut down if your not frequently going back to it.

JonMack
05-12-2010, 10:22 PM
I've been using Macs since 2003, and I always put them to sleep, never shut them down unless doing a software update.

jhammond
06-12-2010, 08:59 AM
DELETED

Ashton Armstrong
06-12-2010, 09:47 AM
i leave mine on hibernate but shut down 2 times a week

gnr racer
06-12-2010, 10:16 AM
But it is a very interesting topic, one that I've always wondered about.[/QUOTE]
Not meening to offend here..but do you think you need to get out more:eh?:

sldmodels
06-12-2010, 10:29 AM
If it's a pc, I'd defintely say shut down. If you leave it to sleep, then remember to leave it connected to the mains. When I had my first laptop 5 years ago, I just did what I saw other people do which was to put the screen down. The result is that I essentially killed the battery, so now it has about 5 minutes worth of charge. I now only use it to watch iPlayer on the TV.

As for Mac's, I'd pressume that you'd do the same thing, but Mac's have always been very different to PC's, as much as they might look alike, but remember that sleep is still using power, as it's "limited" activity, rather than "no activity".

Holeshot
06-12-2010, 10:33 AM
Laptop is usually on most of the day but shut it down when im off to bed unless doing a large download.

jhammond
06-12-2010, 10:38 AM
DELETED

jhammond
06-12-2010, 10:39 AM
DELETED

bodgit
06-12-2010, 10:42 AM