PDA

View Full Version : First few weeks ... some Questions

snook
27-06-2011, 08:59 AM
Hi

I'm fairly new to durango. I bought a dex410 about a month ago and it has been up and running for a few weeks now.
And there are some questions i could not answer by just lurking around in the forum. So i'm gona address them in a new thread.

- Tire wear: I noticed that the front tires wear much MUCH faster then the rears. I had a set of proline m4 in the front and ran it on astro, after 1 pack the front tire tread was gone and the rear looked almost new.
->Is this just a weight difference(lipo/nihm) or is there more going on than i know? what can i do to correct that?
- Ball Cups: the ballcups pop out quiet easily. I had popping after landing a jump, a little body to wheel grinding with a shortcourse, tumbling over and just barely missing a tree.
->Is this a known issue? should i try to fix it or is that like a intentional breaking point to prevent any more damage?
Solution: Ill stick with the fancy electrical tape mod for now, and eventually swap to rpm/losi cups and hpi/tc6 studs.

- Spurgear wobbling: I soon noticed quiet a lot of wobble in the spur gear. I looked around in de forum and users said that this is "ok" and "doesn't matter" so i ignored it. Only later i realized that the spur gear wobble is actually because of the slipperoutdrivepad not properly assembled, there is a tiny offset of the outdrive giving the spur play.
Solution: I decidet to let the spurgear desintegrate a little more. As long as it works its ok. A new Slipperoutdrive is orderd and should be here in a few days.
So now the gearmesh is very hard to set up, because the spur moves about .8 of a millimeter every turn. and after the first run i had tiny flakes of spur gear all over the inside of my body.
-> is this normal? how im i going to fix this? is replacing the slipperoutdrivepadthing the only way?
Solution: see above