PDA

View Full Version : Orion, LRP or Tekin?(For DEX410R)

Nitrius
15-07-2011, 12:11 AM
Am trying to decided on which ESC am gonna buy for my DEX410R, and am a bit torn between Orion Vortex R10, Tekin RS Pro and LRP SXX TC-Spec V2.

Anyone got any experience with these ESC's? To me it looks like the Tekin is very popular these days, also it's the smallest of them, but am not sure if that's enough for me to choose it. Am just looking for something that works good with the DEX410R, and i got a 6.5T Losi motor laying here, which is what am gonna try with one of the ESC's above in the first place.

badger5
15-07-2011, 06:58 AM
Hello Nitrius, I started a thread along these lines yesterday in the electrics section. From my (limited) knowledge the Tekins are good, small and no need for a fan, but expensive. At the moment I have no experience of running any of the ESC's you have mentioned above, but the discussion also brought up some other possibilities. It seems that Orion and Speed Passion are actually made by a company called Hobbywing, and you can buy these as well and save some money. Another option is ORCA VTC pro mk 2, this is also capable of being firmware updated over the Internet. The battery and motor wire terminals are also at opposite ends of the ESC, not sure if this will help or not in the install. It seems that with the 410R the install issue is the routing the wires around the front centre shaft.
I hope this helps a bit.

HarlowS
15-07-2011, 07:55 AM
Yep, Tekin's are my personal choice, nice, small and tidy. As t mentioned above there is also no need for a fan. If you get the hotwire too it opens up many tunning options too with the timing advance and turbo features etc.

Nitrius
15-07-2011, 09:04 AM