PDA

View Full Version : Brushless advice

sim
30-01-2008, 07:13 AM
I'm looking for a brushless system for a Tamtech gear Hotshot. (Haven't got the buggy yet, but will next month).

I'm looking at Quark ProCar 22A esc and either a Hacker E30-11L, Hacker E30-13L or Aon 4900. I'm mostly running some existing 6-cell NiMH packs for now but when they retire, I'll switch to LiPos (haven't decided 2s or 3s, so I'm open to suggestions). I'm looking for something decently fast, so I can make all the big jumps, but not ridiculously fast as I still want to be able to move my throttle finger a good bit during racing. I have a mamba 6800 in my 18T which I run with 6 cells but would like a setup that's just a little bit slower maybe. What would you recommend. I mentioned the Quark, Hackers and Aon because that's what I see from rcmart.com. Is that ESC any good, anybody know? They also have an older version called the Quark Universal which I've read is not very good. Anyone know?

My main track will be indoors on carpet. It's actually a popular M-chassis track but they have some unused jump ramps there sitting by the side that I can move around. The ramps are pretty steep and linear (2 feet run-up slope, 1 foot high, 20.5 inch base) and have only ever been used in 10th scale buggy races.

Edit: Oh ya, there is also the AON 3500. Seems to have heatsinks built in, so not sure about how it would fit. Anybody tried these?

sim
30-01-2008, 07:24 AM
http://www.bigbigplanet.com/rccars/underground/underground_17.jpg
http://www.bigbigplanet.com/rccars/underground/underground_19.jpg
Some old pics of the track. It's since been made much more technical since the M-chassis scene overtook the touring cars in terms of popularity (at this track anyway).

I'm working on helping the track owners make more interesting obstacles for some indoor carpet fun.

evilbert
30-01-2008, 04:18 PM