PDA

View Full Version : New and needing some advice/guidance

westers
19-09-2011, 01:51 PM
Hi all, my name's Ian and for my midlife crisis (I'm 40 later this year), I've had a sudden urge to have a go at RC car racing. Needless to say I need some guidance/help.

Ok, strictly speaking I'm not a complete novice at this as I had a short dalliance with a Hong Nor nitro truggy, but it got no further than messing around with it. That soon fizzled out as it's hard to find areas to run a nitro car without upsetting people, and racing at weekends ate into my little free time, so that avenue stopped before it even started.

Anyway, electric seems to be the way forward, especially as the race meetings are on Friday nights:thumbsup:

Now then, the question that everyone gets sick of seeing asked, but...what's a good car to start off with?:lol::lol:

Actually, here's some more info: I want to race a buggy to start with, and from my nitro experience I now know to go down the second hand route to start with; I may spend as much as a new car, but I should get much more for my money. The question is though, what's a good buggy to be looking for, and what sort of add on parts should I look for?

I'm happy to go up to £200, but I also need to factor in a motor, battery, plus radio gear. Is it worth buying radio gear second hand, or is it best to buy new for that?

Cheers

Ian

Robbiejuk
19-09-2011, 04:38 PM
Hi mate, Good to hear you are looking to get back into the sport and you are definatly coming to the right club.

So £200 pound is not much to play with I am afraid but we will do the best we can.

If you are going for new I would suggest one of these two :

http://www.ar-uk.com/product/Ansmann_Racing_124000011_EP_110_Buggy_2WD_Mad_Rat_ Brushless_RTR_24_Ghz_id43411

or

http://www.ar-uk.com/product/Ansmann_Racing_124000025_EP_110_Buggy_2WD_Mad_Monk ey_Brushless_RTR_24Ghz_id45297