PDA

View Full Version : Mardave circuit esc motor combo


colin367
22-11-2011, 11:11 AM
Hi

I'm thinking of doing the mardave circuit and wondered what the favoured esc/motor combo to go for is. I saw the list within the rules and there are very few combo's to go for ?! or am i reading it wrong, or looking in the wrong place.

Do you go for a specific esc and any of the motors listed ?

Also, are people racing in this using lipo's or cells ? what 1's lipo are you using.


Col

Chequered Flag Racing
22-11-2011, 11:36 AM
the National series sems to be in turmoil at the moment over what can and can't be run under the rules, be it esc's or Mardave parts

LiPo
any from the BRCA 1s list or one half of a saddle pack can be used again from the BRCA saddle pack list.

Latest Rules / which I haven't read
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/5061408/Rules/Mardave%20Circuit%20Rules%20V7.pdf

Visit this site for more but you need to register to view, it's free, just like o0ple
http://rccircuitcars.forumotion.net/t2562-epic-fail

and read from mid page onwards

http://rccircuitcars.forumotion.net/t2556-hereford-today

colin367
22-11-2011, 11:57 AM
Blimey !! i thought this was going to be a good idea !! maybe not.

It all looks as clear as mud, i'm not surprised we don't get newcomers to the sport, i already race and its confused the hell out of me just reading the rules, half the stuff on the list doesn't seem to be available !! wtf.

johnnyp
23-11-2011, 11:01 AM
the rules are as clear as clear i think!
http://www.brca.org/?q=sections/subsections/pages/construction-rules-2011/13572
the speedos are basically any speedo on that list and also include the use of any speedo on the brca approved blinky speedo list
http://www.brca.org/sites/default/files/library_files/markstiles/BRCA%20Approved%20Non.pdf
hope this clears any confusion
jp

colin367
23-11-2011, 11:20 AM
Cheers, i suppose for you guys that are using brushless already, i'm using stuff from the dark ages v60 esc...brushed g2. thats it. I was looking for a combo esc and motor that is being used currently (and with good results) that i can buy off the shelf. And not mix n match from the list. Sorry should have made myself clearer.

johnnyp
23-11-2011, 11:43 AM
currently i dont think anyone is actually running a paired combo off the shelf
with the limitations on motors (rrp 65) theres actually only a few you can run really most people are opting for the team powers plutonium motor tho
and with speedos basically any of them as your be running in blinky style theres no timing so basically any of them work fine aslong as they have been set up correctly
jp

colin367
23-11-2011, 11:44 AM
Johnnyp, thank you very much, thats what i needed.

johnnyp
23-11-2011, 11:50 AM
and as far as i know everyone is running lipo
higher the C rating the more punch
higher the mahs the longer it will last
jp

TOMO WEF
23-11-2011, 12:15 PM
Hi guys My name is Tom Hampson I race in the mardave circuit series and there is a good combo used by myself and richard isherwood with success.
The fusion exceed combo seems to be pretty good and the speedo and motor comes out at something like 69 for the combo.
The most popular choice of speedo/motor is the novak gtb2 with the team powers plutonium motor.
Hope this helps.

Aaron w
23-11-2011, 01:55 PM
Hi guys My name is Tom Hampson I race in the mardave circuit series and there is a good combo used by myself and richard isherwood with success.
The fusion exceed combo seems to be pretty good and the speedo and motor comes out at something like 69 for the combo.
The most popular choice of speedo/motor is the novak gtb2 with the team powers plutonium motor.
Hope this helps.
Is this what your running?http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Fusion-Exceed-13-5t-Brushless-Motor-System-ESC-RC-CAR-/290614563492?pt=UK_ToysGames_RadioControlled_JN&hash=item43a9fa52a4

Do you need to run a booster for the rx?

Chequered Flag Racing
23-11-2011, 02:11 PM
Do you need to run a booster for the rx?

looking at the specs would be advisable to keep the correct voltage for the receiver to send the servo, keeps the servo speed up and also keeps the volatge up for a PT, though the PT's will run from 2.5v from memory


ESC Features:

Exceed Sport ESC
Compatable with brushed and brushless motors
Fully proportional forward & reverse
Programable paramter settings plus factory re-set
Multi brake system including ABS
Sensored brushless technology
Input: NiCad 4-8 cell - LiPo 2-3 cell - LiFe 2-3 cell
Continuous current: 40A
Peak current: 50A
Brushless motor limit: 12.5T
Brushed motor limit: 10T
Size: 40 x 41 x 28.7mm
Fitted with Tamiya style battery connector
On-Off switch

Aaron w
23-11-2011, 02:17 PM
maybe this then?
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Hobbywing-XERUN-120A-1S-Series-1-10-Brushless-ESC-/140647816703?pt=Radio_Control_Parts_Accessories&hash=item20bf435dff

Chequered Flag Racing
23-11-2011, 02:32 PM
maybe this then?
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Hobbywing-XERUN-120A-1S-Series-1-10-Brushless-ESC-/140647816703?pt=Radio_Control_Parts_Accessories&hash=item20bf435dff

there flavour of the month in 12th, WGT and also good for Mardave:thumbsup:

also consdier the Hobbywing Xtreme Stock which runs the same software but needs a booster or receiver pack
Qw8jsPZ7agA

TOMO WEF
23-11-2011, 04:24 PM
Yes that's the combo. It does require a booster but they are simple to install and for me at least have been fit and forget.

The hobbywing 1s speedo looks good and drives nice in all the cars I have sampled from other racers. It's cheap and can be used for other classes of racing but must be run in blinky mode for Mardave racing.

Aaron w
23-11-2011, 05:50 PM
Can it be put into 'blinky' mode via the speedo? Or does it have to be done via pc?

Vinster
25-11-2011, 06:22 PM
Dont be mis lead by a previous poster, this combo costs 69 inc esc and 13.5 motor.It says in the instructions 2s but it works fine with 1s and you DONT need a booster or receiver pack.
The only time you need a 2s is on set up if you are using the set up card an additional 14.
The top guy in the Uk Richard Isherwood was TQ and won both days at last national using this combination.
Eaily set up and seems to work fine and reliable

almunro
05-12-2011, 11:10 PM
any idea what kind of voltage you get to the servo/rec if you dont use a booster on the exceed combo?

Ishy
06-12-2011, 09:18 AM
Sorry no idea....................but it works fine in my car without a booster !

Chequered Flag Racing
06-12-2011, 10:32 AM
any idea what kind of voltage you get to the servo/rec if you dont use a booster on the exceed combo?

needs someone with a multimeter to measure voltage at the esc pins ;)

almunro
06-12-2011, 04:32 PM
ok can do now that i have my combo in hand, however i am waiting on my 1s battery. i can measure off my 4.8v and maybe work it out, unless its not a linear relationship. will get back to you!

colin367
14-12-2011, 10:46 AM
Hi

Where is this combo for 69, anyone got a link ?

Col

oakey4
29-12-2011, 07:02 AM
Dont be mis lead by a previous poster, this combo costs 69 inc esc and 13.5 motor.It says in the instructions 2s but it works fine with 1s and you DONT need a booster or receiver pack.
The only time you need a 2s is on set up if you are using the set up card an additional 14.
The top guy in the Uk Richard Isherwood was TQ and won both days at last national using this combination.
Eaily set up and seems to work fine and reliable



Vince, I was looking for this combo, could not find it for 69 quid anywhere...

almunro
29-12-2011, 09:35 PM
Okay i have just got my 1s lipo and cannot get this combo to work on 1s in lipo mode. It does however work in Nimh mode. Not sure if this difference in modes is only a voltage cutout or not. With a 5000mah lipo, would it ever be an issue running it without the low voltage cutout for 5min races?

Andrew.m1971
30-12-2011, 02:15 AM
Cheers, i suppose for you guys that are using brushless already, i'm using stuff from the dark ages v60 esc...brushed g2. thats it. I was looking for a combo esc and motor that is being used currently (and with good results) that i can buy off the shelf. And not mix n match from the list. Sorry should have made myself clearer.


Mate if your a good driver the brushless are only 1 or 2 laps ahead.
Honest Brushless is of no advantage, i dont care what anybody says, if your a good driver then with a G28 and a G2 you can still beat a brushless.
Ask Jaik Golloghly he beats the brushless all day long with a g28 and a G2 motor.

almunro
02-01-2012, 08:50 PM
Okay i have just got my 1s lipo and cannot get this combo to work on 1s in lipo mode. It does however work in Nimh mode. Not sure if this difference in modes is only a voltage cutout or not. With a 5000mah lipo, would it ever be an issue running it without the low voltage cutout for 5min races?

okay so sorted this out, changed to lipo mode and then changed from auto voltage cutout, to 3.2v per cell, and all works fine. Net will be to see if it goes okay under load in a race.

Alex