PDA

View Full Version : Server Help


BenG
03-08-2006, 08:40 AM
Ok, A little random, but I want buy my own server. However, I dont really know what a 'good' spec is. I want to use it to host my website, and a few others, and it must support mySQL, so I can install it.

I like the look of this one, http://ebuyer.com/UK/product/102195/rb/20798957284

What else do I need? Do i have to leave it on all the time?:confused:

Cheers

Ben

kúv!n
03-08-2006, 08:43 AM
hi m8

yes you will have to leave it on all the time, and it can be a little noise.

thats all i know really but the place where Ive got my hosting from has a very good forum that you should be able to find your answers on!

http://www.webhosting-chat.net/index.php?act=idx

thanks
Kev

BenG
03-08-2006, 09:06 AM
hmmmm, Do they use alot of electricity?:confused:

kúv!n
03-08-2006, 09:12 AM
think its just like a normal PC! so yeah, if i was going to get my own server to host my site, i would also offer hosting out to the general puplic to get the cash bk from what i spent!

kev

DCM
03-08-2006, 09:29 AM
If you are going to host a server, you must have a 'business account' with your network provider, plus a static IP adress.

The spec of the machine doesn't have to be high either, just got to have good access rates to the hard drive, and for security, you might want to look at a fully sorted RAID unit, so if one drive goes down, the other drive has the same data.

The power consumption isn't a lot realy, just knock the monitor off and have audible warnings if there are problems, no fancy graphics card, no fancy sound card.

The other consideration is you got to have good upload speeds otherwise your sites will be dog slow. You could build two comps, one to cater for MySQL and the other to cater for PHP.

kúv!n
03-08-2006, 09:34 AM
im glad some one knows what they are taking about :)

sounds like a good idea to me!

kev

jimmy
03-08-2006, 09:52 AM
Yep, I would have thought upload speed would be the main problem for ya, getting a balanced up/down speed usually means big money and a business line

BenG
03-08-2006, 10:53 AM
Right, I think iw ill just upgrade my hosting to like 3.5. gb

jimmy
03-08-2006, 11:05 AM
of disk space ? I think my site uses around 6/700 megs of space though I could probably get it down to around 500meg. Bandwidth has gone over 50gb a month. I would like to move to a dedicated server but it does cost a lot, when I put the BJ4 review on my site went down instantly because of the traffic.:rolleyes:

BenG
03-08-2006, 12:21 PM
Yeah, 3.5gb, I like to host other RC websites for free, and build up my tyrc network;)

OldTimer
03-08-2006, 01:04 PM
I use to run my own server from home, and to be honest its not worth the trouble, also bandwidth is a problem if you are using a broadband line, as the upload speed is very limited.

You can use a bog standard PC, and put apache, mysql, php etc onto it and these are all free.

But i have my websites hosted now as it just a lot easier.

DCM
03-08-2006, 01:12 PM
If you have a local ISP, they may be willing to host a server for you, dedicated for your own use, otherwise the cheapest (and hassle free) way of doing it is to do it that way, so you lease disk space and bandwidth, and are then allowed to the DNS pointed to their IP adress.

Although if you are IT literate and want to off-set hosting other sites to finance your dedicated up/downstream, then it is feasable, just a lot of work, creating automatic backups, sorting downtime, coverage for hols etc.

jimmy
03-08-2006, 01:39 PM
I think I would rather concentrate on content than have to think about php / sql / asp / unix / blah blah blah.
I have the same as Jonathan, 5gig space and unlimited (!) bandwidth, the only problem is server load. If I manage to update the euros photos while im away, then Im sure the site will be down at some points.

OldTimer
03-08-2006, 01:44 PM
The only good thing i found with having your own server, is the amount of web space you had, i.e. only limited by your hard drive. But other than that a virtual hosting package is the way to go.

Jimmy, if you want you can host your euro pics on my webspace as well as yours so people have a alternative ? if yours goes down.

jimmy
03-08-2006, 01:52 PM
That might be an Idea actually, I'll have a think about how that can work, maybe give you an FTP account to rip them off mine. The actual sizes arent too bad, like I said, 7 megs for the entire BJ4we review- but a few hundred people look at that in a day and it soon grinds to a halt.

BenG
03-08-2006, 02:52 PM
Yeah, and on mine too, I only use about 100mb, so I have about 2gb left
:D

OldTimer
03-08-2006, 04:37 PM
Let me know Jimmy, i have a 8meg broadband connection, so 10/15 mb only takes a moment to download, or a can create a ftp account on my server for you ?.

jimmy
03-08-2006, 04:45 PM
If I manage to upload stuff from austrlia it might be a bit sketchy (I plan to drive around and hijack some unsuspecting households wireless broadband), so might not get enough chance to upload twice.

Theres enough time to think about it anyway, otherwise if I have to upload it all when I get back probably best to upload it to yours too for WHEN mine goes down :p

BenG
03-08-2006, 04:49 PM
Get a PDA matey;) And download an FTP progrmame for it:D

OldTimer
03-08-2006, 04:54 PM
Drop me a email with what you want to do, if i know were the html and photos are i can copy them across ?. Saves you uploading twice.

DCM
03-08-2006, 04:58 PM
If I manage to upload stuff from austrlia it might be a bit sketchy (I plan to drive around and hijack some unsuspecting households wireless broadband), so might not get enough chance to upload twice.

Jimmy the LEACH!!!

BenG
03-08-2006, 08:25 PM
There are loads od urban legends out by desterted Aussie houses, and murderers. Funny, they never seem to go for the wireless internet:D

emzy
03-08-2006, 11:05 PM
He means Austria... not Australia. He just wishes it was Australia.

BenG
04-08-2006, 06:16 AM
Lol:d