oOple.com Forums

oOple.com Forums (http://www.oople.com/forums/index.php)
-   Team C Racing (http://www.oople.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=189)
-   -   TC02C diff issues (http://www.oople.com/forums/showthread.php?t=123946)

dicky14 07-03-2013 10:15 AM

TC02C diff issues

Might be a daft question (usually are), having replaced my diff balls with hpi ceramic items ive noticed the diff slips more than with steel balls, ive used wet and dry on new diff plates and the diff started slipping(this was after running in the diff) i swaped the diff plates over and repeated the process( it lasted 3 races and chewed up the plates) i've since built a new diff using standard parts and so far so good. What have i done wrong? Its not like i'm a novice with this kind of thing.:thumbdown:

Robbiejuk 07-03-2013 01:15 PM

Did you compress the diff spring a few times with a pair of pliers before you put it in?

If you don't you usually end up with a screw that won't tighten any more and a slipping diff.

How are you running your diff in?

dicky14 07-03-2013 01:21 PM

diff screw compressed and i still cant tighten up the screw:bored: and im running the diff in by holding one of the rear wheels and slowly rotating the diff with the throttle trim on the tranny, is this right?

nicVEGAchildJR 07-03-2013 03:01 PM

are your hpi diff balls 2.38mm or 2.4mm ???

IntegraMark 07-03-2013 04:05 PM

what rings are you using?

I used the the B-Fast kit with carbide diff balls. worked good for me when i was running the TC02C

200sx 07-03-2013 09:26 PM

I noticed the bearings in my diff were slightly too wide. Initially they are okay as long as you don't sand the diff rings, but as a groove is formed on the rings, no matter how tight you set the diff it will slip.

Here's what I did. I used a 0.1mm shim on the outdrives beneath the rings.

welshmerlin 07-03-2013 10:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 200sx (Post 753723)