Go Back   oOple.com Forums > General > 1/10th OFF ROAD

Old 26-07-2016

Default ok need an idiots guide :) FM MM RM???

as per the title, I sit browsing and reading forums and pages about the buggies etc

but I dont really have much understanding of all the new technicalities

mid, forward, rear motor mounts, 3 gear 4 gear etc

anyone know of a reputable page with an idiots guide to all this

I know that its probably good enough to just see what they runing at the track and buy one of them, but as an engineer, I like to know how and why things work, not just that they do LOL
RC10B74 Maclan powered

#rcoctane
#teamrcoctane
Old 26-07-2016

Easy to break it up into 3 categories:

Rear motor - Traditional buggy layout that was never challenged for many years, started to get phased out about 5 years ago because people realised it wasn't great for high grip. Motor out the back means huge rear weight bias which is good for very low grip, but even now they're losing out against mid cars.

Mid motor - What started to dominate in high grip a few years ago, now seen as a good all-rounder for high and low grip. 4 gear is used for low grip as it generates more mid-corner grip, whilst 3 gear cars have more corner speed due to the direction of rotation of the motor and the reduced rotating mass. Popular in 17.5 stock over in America.

Forward/lay-down - Started to come in over the last few years, lower CG means they're less likely to grip roll and the motor position improves the weight distribution. Not very good when the grip levels drop because of the lack of weight directly over the back end but in very high grip there's not much you can do to beat them. Again with lay down cars a 3 gear will be able to corner faster than a 4 gear.
Old 26-07-2016