Go Back   oOple.com Forums > General > The PlayGround > oOple Talk

Old 01-03-2010

Default Driving TC to improve OR skills?

Have been thinking a little.

Have an idea that I want to ask you more experienced guys. Looking on race results I can tell that the Top TC driver also do really well when it comes to driving off road. Marc, Victor are two examples.
I tried some touring this winter and I must say that I am a fairly good driver and almost every time makes the A finals but never hits the top 5 in the end. The first race ever I attended with my TC I came in second place! Very happy with that. But my heart lays with the OR and I want to improve my driving more. I am too careful and hardly ever makes mistakes but then I am not fast enough instead. In Tc I felt I could push harder and then came the confidence in myself and in the car. Therefore the great result.
I want to be able to transfer that confidence over to the turf.
Do you think driving 2D can improve my 3D?
I know, where is the real question in this but I only want to hear your opinions if you can gain something from one class to another.
Old 02-03-2010
Mad Member

All practice is good practice. It's good to experience different classes too, it makes you more adaptable to different conditions.

I wouldn't say that TC will improve off-road driving skills particularly, the styles are very different - jumps is one obvious difference, but also the use of power and the lines are different too.

Marc Rheinard et al win races because they are very good drivers, not because they are touring car drivers!
Old 02-03-2010

Speaking as someone who came from TC to OR, I would say OR has a lot more finesse than TC. Granted I was never National Champion at TC (made 3rd overall in the SLCC prostock class), but I thought i'd just pitch up at PDA and be on a par. How wrong I was.

Jumping control, throttle control and shock set up are all things i'm picking up slowly from doing OR.