Go Back   oOple.com Forums > Car Talk > Hot Bodies / HPI

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 26-05-2009
dan da man's Avatar
dan da man dan da man is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: ludlow
Posts: 18
Send a message via MSN to dan da man
Talking batteries

my batteries keep dying in the middle of races i am wondering if it is my pinion or my batts



thanks dan
__________________
hotbodies cyclone d4
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 26-05-2009
stox217's Avatar
stox217 stox217 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The track!
Posts: 862
Default

what batteries you running & what gear?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26-05-2009
dan da man's Avatar
dan da man dan da man is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: ludlow
Posts: 18
Send a message via MSN to dan da man
Default

i have 4200 batts and i 16 tooth spur and a 6.5 motor
__________________
hotbodies cyclone d4
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26-05-2009
jim76 jim76 is offline
*SuPeRsTaR mEmBeR*
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ruislip
Posts: 2,890
Default

how do you charge them also? is the transmission on the car free or stiff?
__________________
4wd - X4TE
2wd - X2C (Mad Rat passed down to son!)

Ansmann Racing UK


RIP - MicroTech Racing

Trader Feedback
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26-05-2009
dan da man's Avatar
dan da man dan da man is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: ludlow
Posts: 18
Send a message via MSN to dan da man
Default

i put then on a cycle charger and diss charge
__________________
hotbodies cyclone d4
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26-05-2009
dan da man's Avatar
dan da man dan da man is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: ludlow
Posts: 18
Send a message via MSN to dan da man
Default

and yes the diff is free
__________________
hotbodies cyclone d4
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 26-05-2009
stox217's Avatar
stox217 stox217 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The track!
Posts: 862
Default

how old are the 4200's?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 26-05-2009
dan da man's Avatar
dan da man dan da man is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: ludlow
Posts: 18
Send a message via MSN to dan da man
Default

they are not very old
__________________
hotbodies cyclone d4
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 26-05-2009
stox217's Avatar
stox217 stox217 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The track!
Posts: 862
Default

what amp's you charging at? or what cutoff is your esc set at?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 26-05-2009
dibble34's Avatar
dibble34 dibble34 is offline
Mad Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 1,477
Default

hard to say really. I run my d4 with a 4.5 on a 16 tooth and it will do 5 mins on some older 3300 cells. Is you motor getting hot? You could try a bigger pinion i guess like an 18 but not sure if that would help.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 26-05-2009
dan da man's Avatar
dan da man dan da man is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: ludlow
Posts: 18
Send a message via MSN to dan da man
Default

i charge them at 3 amps and i dont know what the cut off point is
__________________
hotbodies cyclone d4
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 26-05-2009
jim76 jim76 is offline
*SuPeRsTaR mEmBeR*
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ruislip
Posts: 2,890
Default

what charger do you use? does it tell you how many milliamps are going into the cells? Or how long do they take to charge at 3A?
__________________
4wd - X4TE
2wd - X2C (Mad Rat passed down to son!)

Ansmann Racing UK


RIP - MicroTech Racing

Trader Feedback
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 26-05-2009
jim76 jim76 is offline
*SuPeRsTaR mEmBeR*
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ruislip
Posts: 2,890
Default

is the entire transmission free, not just diffs? take off the pinion and roll the car along the floor, it should run along happily, not stop abruptly.
__________________
4wd - X4TE
2wd - X2C (Mad Rat passed down to son!)

Ansmann Racing UK


RIP - MicroTech Racing

Trader Feedback
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 26-05-2009
stox217's Avatar
stox217 stox217 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The track!
Posts: 862
Default

i would try 4.2amp
and deffo try to find the cut off point as it may be cutting out on you hence its stopping half way through
what esc you running?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 26-05-2009
dan da man's Avatar
dan da man dan da man is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: ludlow
Posts: 18
Send a message via MSN to dan da man
Default

i use a cml charger it is like the venom charger . it take just over a hour to charger the batts
__________________
hotbodies cyclone d4
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 26-05-2009
jim76 jim76 is offline
*SuPeRsTaR mEmBeR*
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ruislip
Posts: 2,890
Default

the cells should be taking over 3000mah then, which is enough for a 5 min race easy. does the motor or speedo get really hot during a run? do you mesh your gears properly and not too tight?
__________________
4wd - X4TE
2wd - X2C (Mad Rat passed down to son!)

Ansmann Racing UK


RIP - MicroTech Racing

Trader Feedback
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 26-05-2009
Jonathan's Avatar
Jonathan Jonathan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 181
Default

Does it do this on more than one pack of cells ? You could have a bad pack or bad cell within the pack ?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 26-05-2009
dan da man's Avatar
dan da man dan da man is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: ludlow
Posts: 18
Send a message via MSN to dan da man
Default

ok then i will try thank you very much
__________________
hotbodies cyclone d4
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 26-05-2009
dan da man's Avatar
dan da man dan da man is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: ludlow
Posts: 18
Send a message via MSN to dan da man
Default

yes it does do it on more than one set of batts
__________________
hotbodies cyclone d4
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 26-05-2009
stox217's Avatar
stox217 stox217 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The track!
Posts: 862
Default

Id try a diffrent charger for starter's more like a protrak i have for sale (http://www.oople.com/forums/showthread.php?t=24597)
As your cells may dump due to lack of charge in them?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
oOple.com