Go Back   oOple.com Forums > General > Electrics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #41  
Old 11-01-2009
Lowie's Avatar
Lowie Lowie is offline
Mad Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dworp, Belgium
Posts: 1,173
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DCM View Post
...
If you like it soft at the bottom end, senorless, if you like it full of punch, get sensored.

As for ESC, if you are not sure, get the RS Pro, as then you can use ALL the motors.
Well, the RS Pro, I allready have so that's sorted.
about the motor-choice: as I still have a high noob-degree, I would need "soft at bottom end" I guess, so I'll choose ...
sensored anyway and tune up the softness of the throtle with the setup of my transmitter
This way I can still choose

thx for the explanation!
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 11-01-2009
DCM's Avatar
DCM DCM is offline
Spends too long on oOple ...
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Marvelous South Wales!!
Posts: 8,896
Default

6.5 is a nice all round motor in 4wd, use it indoors and out... 5.5 is a lot more fun though
__________________
dragon paints : team tekin : fusion hobbies :SCHUMACHER RACING : Nuclear R/C for all my sticky and slippery stuff - if it needs gluing or lubing, Nuclear RC is the man!
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 12-01-2009
Randy p's Avatar
Randy p Randy p is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Nevada, US
Posts: 298
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy p
Default

I agree with DCM on the 6.5

The sensorless motors we have are not comparable wind to wind due to the fact that our sensorless motors are Delta wound where as the sensored motor are Wye wound.

Differences being so large where as a 448 is a 4 T 4800kv motor but a 4T or 4.5t sensored motor's kv is much higher say almost double. The gearing won't be very close and the power that's made is different. I prefer running all my mods in dual mode. The motor is more efficient this way as is the esc.

In offroad especially dual mode seems to be the ticket as spool up is far more controllable(for me).

One of the amazing things about our esc's is that you can strech a single motor into a few different personalities to make it fit your need and driving style. Heck, maybe we shouldn't make it so nice, you'd have to buy more motors! LOL
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 14-01-2009
Chequered Flag Racing's Avatar
Chequered Flag Racing Chequered Flag Racing is offline
Spends too long on oOple ...
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In Early Retirment
Posts: 5,900
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DCM View Post
Sensored only
max 30' timing, that includes any advance on the motor and hotwire, 15' is optimal
Limiter 90
TP3
Neatral width, 16
Brake full
Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy p View Post
For the 5.5 I'd start out something like this:

NW 10
BS 85
TP 3
Timing at 80
Dual Mode
Motor timing around 20(even though it's only there for the start)

The other settings are personal pref.

Ran last night to check out the above settings.

After 5 min heat the ESC was @ 167f (75c), motor was @ 122c (50c)

Those temps OK or do I need to adjust something?

5.5bl motor geared on 18/84 using 4600 NiMH
__________________
o0ple Trader Feedback
NE Venue's New & Old
my space on YouTube
CFR RCTV Channel
Glenn Atterton

BRCA 2005 1/10th Off-Road Veterans Champion
LMP12 National Champion 2003/2004 / F3 class
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 14-01-2009
DCM's Avatar
DCM DCM is offline
Spends too long on oOple ...
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Marvelous South Wales!!
Posts: 8,896
Default

how many lights were on the ESC? Thermal indicator. And did the motor feel too hot to touch?
__________________
dragon paints : team tekin : fusion hobbies :SCHUMACHER RACING : Nuclear R/C for all my sticky and slippery stuff - if it needs gluing or lubing, Nuclear RC is the man!
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 14-01-2009
Chequered Flag Racing's Avatar
Chequered Flag Racing Chequered Flag Racing is offline
Spends too long on oOple ...
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In Early Retirment
Posts: 5,900
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DCM View Post
how many lights were on the ESC? Thermal indicator. And did the motor feel too hot to touch?
Don't know

used a temp gun

motor was OK to touch on a scale 1-10 I'd say 4

solder posts on esc were an OUCH, that's what made me check the temps

can I back check last temp of esc if I switch it on today?
__________________
o0ple Trader Feedback
NE Venue's New & Old
my space on YouTube
CFR RCTV Channel
Glenn Atterton

BRCA 2005 1/10th Off-Road Veterans Champion
LMP12 National Champion 2003/2004 / F3 class
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 14-01-2009
DCM's Avatar
DCM DCM is offline
Spends too long on oOple ...
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Marvelous South Wales!!
Posts: 8,896
Default

unfortunately, no, but when you finish a run, if you pop the shell off, the led will flash from showing the neatral position to flashing a certain amount of LED's, as long as it is below 5, things are good. On the RS, short track with a 6.5, I will generaly show up 3-4 led's on the thermal temp.
__________________
dragon paints : team tekin : fusion hobbies :SCHUMACHER RACING : Nuclear R/C for all my sticky and slippery stuff - if it needs gluing or lubing, Nuclear RC is the man!
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 14-01-2009
Cooper's Avatar
Cooper Cooper is offline
oOple Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ghent, Belgium
Posts: 1,731
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy p View Post

If you have the RS you can run both sensored and sensorless motors. The fact that was also stated corretly was that with the RS you have the ability to choose between Sensored only drive OR Dual mode which is a sensored start and sensorless operation afterwards.
is this dual mode something from the newest software versions?

I have an R1 pro and a RS and I haven't found that dual mode in my RS
__________________
www.rc-offroad.be
Never argue with a stupid man. He will drag you down to his level and beat you because of his experience.
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 14-01-2009
DCM's Avatar
DCM DCM is offline
Spends too long on oOple ...
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Marvelous South Wales!!
Posts: 8,896
Default

not sure if it is called 'hybrid' mode on the hotwire?
__________________
dragon paints : team tekin : fusion hobbies :SCHUMACHER RACING : Nuclear R/C for all my sticky and slippery stuff - if it needs gluing or lubing, Nuclear RC is the man!
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 14-01-2009
Cooper's Avatar
Cooper Cooper is offline
oOple Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ghent, Belgium
Posts: 1,731
Default

will check tonight (and update my ESC's, ain't sure if they have the lastest version or not)

thanks !
__________________
www.rc-offroad.be
Never argue with a stupid man. He will drag you down to his level and beat you because of his experience.
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 14-01-2009
DCM's Avatar
DCM DCM is offline
Spends too long on oOple ...
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Marvelous South Wales!!
Posts: 8,896
Default

I would check, but got nothing to hand right at the mo, sorry.
__________________
dragon paints : team tekin : fusion hobbies :SCHUMACHER RACING : Nuclear R/C for all my sticky and slippery stuff - if it needs gluing or lubing, Nuclear RC is the man!
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 14-01-2009
Alfonzo Alfonzo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 636
Default

Seems to me all these 'ratings' for BL motors are confusing. Is there are standard that could be adopted to allow direct comparisons across all types, Howabout using Kv figures, would that work?
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 14-01-2009
KevLee's Avatar
KevLee KevLee is offline
oOple Advertiser
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Hitchin, Hertfordshire
Posts: 722
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cooper View Post
will check tonight (and update my ESC's, ain't sure if they have the lastest version or not)

thanks !
The RS defaults to dual mode (hybrid mode) unless you tick the box on the hotwire for sensored only. Without that box ticked it will always start the motor sensored then switch to sensorless once its moving.

Since the RS was released it has always had dual mode so you've probably been running it like that without realising

If the sensor comes unplugged, or damaged it will automatically run in sensorless just like the R1 (whether or not that sensored only box is ticked)

I run mine in dual mode all the time, i find its much smoother and runs cooler that way.
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 15-01-2009
Randy p's Avatar
Randy p Randy p is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Nevada, US
Posts: 298
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy p
Default

Kevins right, the Rs is in dual mode as a default. Look towards the right side of the Hotwire interface in the middle and you should see a box that says "Sensored only." If you want to run sensored only you must click this box.

If you had 122F as a motor temp that's more than fine. I'd say you could gear up if you wanted to.

DCM is spot on though as far as esc temps are. The solders posts are our "heatsinks" so don't touch! LOL

Check the internal temps just like DCM said, that's all I care about. In wheeler on high bite you should see around 5 or 6 led's in an RS Pro running anything hotter than a 6.5.

If you are getting to 7 led's you are either overgeared or need to get some air into your shell. If this can't be done well use a 2nd cap.
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 15-01-2009
Chequered Flag Racing's Avatar
Chequered Flag Racing Chequered Flag Racing is offline
Spends too long on oOple ...
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In Early Retirment
Posts: 5,900
Default

Power Caps for the RS #TT3520

who stocks them in the UK?

non on muchmore uk site
__________________
o0ple Trader Feedback
NE Venue's New & Old
my space on YouTube
CFR RCTV Channel
Glenn Atterton

BRCA 2005 1/10th Off-Road Veterans Champion
LMP12 National Champion 2003/2004 / F3 class
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 15-01-2009
samd's Avatar
samd samd is offline
Mad Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,026
Default

Speed passion do one with 4 caps on a circuit board from demon products. I have one and RS Pro runs 2 lights cooler and the faster mod motors seem to be a bit smoother, about £18. Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 15-01-2009
Chequered Flag Racing's Avatar
Chequered Flag Racing Chequered Flag Racing is offline
Spends too long on oOple ...
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: In Early Retirment
Posts: 5,900
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by samd View Post
Speed passion do one with 4 caps on a circuit board from demon products. I have one and RS Pro runs 2 lights cooler and the faster mod motors seem to be a bit smoother, about £18. Hope this helps.
which one?

SP98801 or SPAMSSC3M
__________________
o0ple Trader Feedback
NE Venue's New & Old
my space on YouTube
CFR RCTV Channel
Glenn Atterton

BRCA 2005 1/10th Off-Road Veterans Champion
LMP12 National Champion 2003/2004 / F3 class
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 15-01-2009
Northy's Avatar
Northy Northy is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Malton, North Yorkshire - Gods Country
Posts: 8,358
Blog Entries: 15
Default

If you can find some specs for what you need I can source some.

G
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 15-01-2009
DCM's Avatar
DCM DCM is offline
Spends too long on oOple ...
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Marvelous South Wales!!
Posts: 8,896
Default

P871F
330
16V

Thats what it says on top dude!
__________________
dragon paints : team tekin : fusion hobbies :SCHUMACHER RACING : Nuclear R/C for all my sticky and slippery stuff - if it needs gluing or lubing, Nuclear RC is the man!
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 15-01-2009
samd's Avatar
samd samd is offline
Mad Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,026
Default

SP98801-C01
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
oOple.com