Go Back   oOple.com Forums > General > Vintage RC

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 3 Days Ago
FERRETTI's Avatar
FERRETTI FERRETTI is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: North East England
Posts: 265
Default Brushed Modified Motor Maintenance

So one for you guys racing with brushed setups.

Once you’ve rebuilt a motor (which may include a com skim, new brushes etc) how are you timing them if you don’t have a dyno?
__________________
If you're living within your means you don't have enough imagination.

Here's my TC showroom
http://www.tamiyaclub.com/showroom.asp?id=18028
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 3 Days Ago
Welshy40's Avatar
Welshy40 Welshy40 is offline
Spends too long on oOple ...
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Surrey
Posts: 4,762
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FERRETTI View Post
So one for you guys racing with brushed setups.

Once you’ve rebuilt a motor (which may include a com skim, new brushes etc) how are you timing them if you don’t have a dyno?
Tbh i just left it at the manufacturers settings and did well with that, yes when you dyno you make it more efficient and sometime more torquey but as lipos are now on the scene with ratings for more torque the stanard setup should be powerful enough.
__________________
www.kamtec.co.uk
www.fibre-lyte.co.uk
answer-rc.com/uk/en/
Sworkz UK team driver
Designer of the Lazer ZX/ZXR carbon fibre tub chassis
Designer of the Lazer ZXRS

Team Fabiix Batteries (Yuasa), always in front when using sanyo scrcs.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 3 Days Ago
FERRETTI's Avatar
FERRETTI FERRETTI is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: North East England
Posts: 265
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Welshy40 View Post
Tbh i just left it at the manufacturers settings and did well with that, yes when you dyno you make it more efficient and sometime more torquey but as lipos are now on the scene with ratings for more torque the stanard setup should be powerful enough.
That is certainly one acceptable approach but once you’ve skimmed a com you’ve altered the timing from the manufacturer’s settings.

I always used to time motor to 3.5 amps at no load full voltage. I’m pretty sure this wasn’t the correct approach but like you it seemed to work well. Back then I had a Shinwa motor dresser, unfortunately not now.
__________________
If you're living within your means you don't have enough imagination.

Here's my TC showroom
http://www.tamiyaclub.com/showroom.asp?id=18028
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2 Days Ago
lofty2332 lofty2332 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Manchester
Posts: 118
Default

I normally mark the can & end bell before taking motors apart for a skim and then just line it back up when rebuilding.
__________________
Team 6K Racing
PR Racing S1 V3R EVO
Schumacher Cat 2000EC

Instagram: Lofty1984
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2 Days Ago
Dirt-Racer's Avatar
Dirt-Racer Dirt-Racer is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: CA
Posts: 23
Send a message via MSN to Dirt-Racer
Default

As default, I would always mark the can from the original settings it came with. I never really used to play around with the timing of motors who had a reputation of churning out good motors and I bought as new.

Only time I played with the timing is when they were cheap motors - good enough for club racing, which were new But weren't run through a professional dyno. Also when I buy a used one from one of the sponsored driver who had the motor for 2/3 meetings from new, never been skimmed. I would connect it to a pack of batteries and adjust the timing for max rpm by ear/listening to the revs and back off 2 degrees. I used to do this a lot for old motors which didn't have great magnets due to their use & age, I figured, you weren't going to get punch or torque but you could get better top end (to a degree).
__________________
www.tamiyaclub.com nice site if you like some vintage rc..
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
oOple.com