Go Back   oOple.com Forums > General > General Race Chat

Old 12-12-2014
Administrator

Default All 2WD should be rear motor

Discuss
Old 12-12-2014

It worked fine for years but it's time for a change now. Look at formula 1, going from front engine to mid engine.

-Jeremy
Old 12-12-2014
Administrator

does it spoil the appeal though? it's a different driving style. I've limited experience but what i've noticed is it's more point and shoot and less flowing. maybe my old brain is wrong
Old 12-12-2014

Tracks are what is driving the evolution of this particular class. Tracks have evolved from pure dirt, to hard packed clay, to sugar treated clay and to carpet and astroturf in europe.
So cars are evolving along. Though us rear motor lovers shouldn't criticize cars, we should criticize track owners. But that's not possible as high grip tracks have followers nowadays as dirt tracks had.
I think it's a matter of time. In a couple of years maybe a new material will be found that would build dirt tracks that have medium traction that stays the same all day long without maintenance and then we can all switch back to rear motor and listen to the banter of those wanting mid motor cars. Or worse... front motor cars.
Old 12-12-2014

Then should we all be using brushed motors and NiMH batterys? Its evolution, if the cars didn't evolve then we'd still all be running rc10 lol
Old 12-12-2014
Administrator

errrr, only car i raced this year was rc10 in the oople goldtub series.

bloody brilliant fun!!!
Old 12-12-2014
Administrator

Quote:
Originally Posted by Silberpfeil View Post
It worked fine for years but it's time for a change now. Look at formula 1, going from front engine to mid engine.

-Jeremy
F1 gets tuned back everytime the cars get too good though - to make it more of a spectacle.
Old 12-12-2014
Mad Member

Send a message via Skype™ to purplenut