Go Back   oOple.com Forums > Trade Room > Wanted

Old 21-11-2010

Default Decent 1/10 4WD Buggy

Hi all, my son wants one of the above for Xmas and will be racing it locally to begin with so would require something that would be reasonable spec.
Don't want to spend a fortune incase he doesn't stick at it but he will want to be atleast slightly competitive.

Andy.
Old 21-11-2010
Spends too long on oOple ...

Send a message via MSN to mark christopher

what area is locally?

does it have to be 4 wheel drive
Old 21-11-2010

We are from the Durham area and visited Seaham to see the NEAM guys today, very helpful.

Doesn't have to be 4WD just thought it would be easier for him to handle, I'm open to suggestions being a total novice.
Old 21-11-2010

I don't know how old your son is, but when my 7 year old wanted to go buggy racing I bought him a HPI savage. It may not be up there with a CAT SX or a Durango, but it was just right for teaching him the basics. First time out he did one lap in 5 mins. It took a long time to develop the skills needed to be fast.

More importantly for £180 you get everything except a decent battery charger and the thing was indistructable. We race indoors at Falkirk RRC. There is no run off at the end of the straight. My son rattled his HPI off every piece of the building, often at high speed and nothing ever broke. It impressed everyone.

Now that he can drive properly (and regularly beats his dad with 13- 14 laps), he has a CAT SX that he saved up for! It cost me nothing.

Hope this helps.
Old 21-11-2010

Thanks for the advice, he's 12 and I looked at the Ansmann Mad Rat originally but I see a lot of people saying go for a 2nd hand B4 if going 2WD, spares aplenty it seems.
Then we were advised 4WD may be a better option as it will be a bit easier for him to control.

We just want to give him a good base to start from and who knows... Dad might get interested too!
Old 21-11-2010
Mad Member