Go Back   oOple.com Forums > General > 12th & 10th On Road

Old 13-09-2015

Default 12th scale help

Hi everyone,
I have just got my first 12th scale (lmp) chassis as I am going off to uni and will be unable to race my touring car. I have wanted to run 12th since i saw them at my local track but i am a complete newbie and have no idea what i am doing so any advice would be appreciated. I have an Associated 5.2.

At the moment i was trying to balance it out but i can't get it any where near. Any suggestions.

Thanks in advance
Tom
Old 13-09-2015

Default In at the deep end!

Well Tom 1/12 LMP is pretty much the pinnacle for sheer speed and adrenaline in the indoor racing world!

Now your plea for help is pretty much an open book of questions but if you need setup information then a good starting point is as the instruction book details, or you can look onto the Team Associated website for some actual setup sheets from various racers and the instruction book if you do not have one.

Tyres are an obvious starting point too but fairly straight forward really but this is only for guidance depending on the carpet type and condition, the club you will race at will give better advice I'm sure!
But for lower grip then Pink (30 Shore) or soft Pink (28 Shore) rear with full width additive, Double Pink (35 Shore) front with 1/3 to 1/2 width additive, from the inside the outside remains untreated.
For higher grip when the track is well 'rubbered in' then Magenta front and rear with similar additive.

I always put fresh tyres on for each heat but some choose not to but you will probably need to reduce the amount of additive for each repeat run.
Tyre diameter has quite an effect on handling and the top racers will have trued theirs down to something quite a bit smaller than as supplied.