Go Back   oOple.com Forums > General > R/C Graphy!

Old 03-02-2012

Send a message via MSN to Garry
Default Indoor racing photos - how can it be done well?

How is it possible to take a halfway decent, non-blurry mess when shooting in low/poor light indoors? I'm still learning but can't use a flash (I don't want to distract the drivers).

I've got a Canon 1000D, I shot mostly in Av, I was fiddling with the settings and modes all evening to work out what made an improvement and what didn't, swapping between a long lens and a short one. I seemed to get my best shots with lowest F-stop (f5.6 with the kit 18-55mm lens, and f4.5 with a Tamron A17e 70-300mm lens). ISO was as high as possible (ISO 1600).

http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?s...1&l=565b6dfacb

Samples:

Also, what do you do? Fill the frame with the car or leave it zoomed out ( a bit or a lot) and crop later?
Old 03-02-2012

it is very difficult to be honest, F5.6 isn't quick enough and won't let in enough light, ideally you'd be looking to use a lens with an aperture of F2.8 or lower, but theses are very expensive. You could try a prime lens either a 1.8 or 1.4 35/50mm but then you'll have to move about a lot to get decent shots in frame, not having any zoom.

try messing about in manual mode, turn your shutter speed up as far as you can, and use the flash. It is difficult to pan and shoot with low light indoors, especially when the cars are going so fast. Also make sure your ISO is at least 1600 or higher if your camera will allow.
Old 03-02-2012

hi, Had the same sort of issues at our club! You need a lense with a low F number(fast) to allow the max light onto the sensor,this will also allow you to use a faster shutter speed making the images sharper. Check out Jimmy's thread on photography its all explained very well. You can pick up a 50mm, f1.8 lense for around 80 pounds on ebay.One of the guys at club has one and it makes a massive difference..It all gets a bit expensive after that though!
Dave