Go Back   oOple.com Forums > General > News > oOple Off-Road Open Series 2018

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 21-05-2018
WHITTLER555's Avatar
WHITTLER555 WHITTLER555 is offline
Super Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,809
Default Round 3 Oswestry Race Report and Results

May 19th/20th 2018 saw an new venue to the oOple Series at Oswestry's newly astro turfed permanent track based on Oswestry Showground.

The club had worked really hard to lay a new racing surface in the weeks before the meeting and the track was awesome with loads of off camber bends, double jumps, a banked corner and a big bomb hole in front of the rostrum.

The weather was fantastic all weekend and at times too hot but with music playing non stop over the PA system and Ashley Williams enthusiastic commentating on all the races the atmosphere was brilliant. (Ashley obviously steps in to Smooth FM as a DJ from time to time!)

As the track was bone dry, drivers tried both Proline Pinpoints and Schumacher Yellow Darts. The Pinpoints were great in the early practice both days giving superior grip but as the sun came out and heated the astro turf up they lost grip and the Darts were the tyre to be on. As the track was newly laid there was quite a bit of sand and dust coming up but if anything it helped the cars slide a little without the dreaded grip roll.

Mad Models brought supplies of both manufacturers tyres and 76 drivers were in attendance including a full heat of Trucks!

In 2WD it would be PR main man Kev Lee who would take overall pole position in the A final, with fellow PR driver Andy Jones lining up second and Tony Bishop third with his Xray? (sorry Tony)

The A final was held over three legs and as your writer (DW) was in it for once, I can't tell you exactly what happened lap for lap, however Kev Lee took the first two legs, winning overall, Andy Jones took second in both legs and Tony Bishop third, so regulation order. In Leg 3 however it all got a lot more exciting as Kev made a mistake allowing Mark Brocklebank and Tony through. The battle raged for the last three laps (I could tell be cause they were coming up to lap me!) with Tony Bishop taking the win, Kev second and Mark third. Everyone enjoyed that one!

Overall 2WD A Final Results:

1st - Kev Lee - PR
2nd - Tony Bishop - Xray
3rd - Andy Jones - PR

Other 2WD Winners were:

B Final - Dave Dutton
C Final - Stephen Rogers
D Final - Tom Hughes
E Final - Colin Kirkham

In 4WD the battle would be between Tony Bishop in pole driving an Xray and Andy Woods in second with his new Schumacher L1, with Matt Bateson driving his Xray into third on the A final grid.

Tony would go on to win the first two legs, taking overall honours however Andy started well coming in second in leg one but only managed sixth in leg two, which left Stu Hurley driving an Xray to take second overall in leg two with Chris Ely driving a Tekno taking third. So going into the third leg, second place could be claimed by either Stu Hurley, Andy woods, Chris Ely or possibly Matt Bateson.

In Leg three Tony got it wrong over the big double jump allowing Andy woods through to take the leg win, Tony came in second and Stu Hurley third.

Overall 4WD A final Results:

1st - Tony Bishop - Xray
2nd - Andy woods - Schumacher L1
3rd - Stu Hurley - Xray.

Onto the Trucks and we had a full A final of 10 cars, a mixture of 4WD Short Course, 2WD Short Course and 2WD Stadium Truck. Despite a melted rear gearbox, Damian Whittle would take pole position with Mark Brocklebank in second and Danny James in third on the grid.

In the final, Damian managed to win the first two legs taking the overall win, with Danny James having a second and fourth and Mark Brocklebank a third and second. So going into the last leg is was all about second place. Danny pushed Damian hard in leg three resulting in a roll for the leader and Danny took the lead, however he then rolled on the next lap allowing Damian back through which left Danny taking overall second place and Mark in third. All the truck drivers enjoyed themselves even if it looked like a demolition derby at times!

Overall Truck Final Results:

1st Damian Whittle - TLR 3.0 SCTE
2nd Danny James TLR 3.0 SCTE
3rd Mark Broklebank 2WD SC

Well done to all the drivers!

Thanks to our sponsors, Schumacher, CML/Proline, Inside Line Racing, Mad Models, Dremel, RPRC/Tekno.

Cheers to the oOple Team for putting another great event on.

Finally thanks to Neil Oliver, Jeff Stanton, Ashley (DJ) Williams and the whole Oswestry crew for a FANTASTIC first oOple meeting and a great weekend.

Final Results and Championship Table after Round 3 are HERE!

oOoo's Rd 3 Final Results (All Legs).pdf

oOoo's Championship after Rd 3 OSWESTRY.pdf


Last edited by WHITTLER555; 22-05-2018 at 03:44 PM.
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:51 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.