Go Back   oOple.com Forums > Events & Venues > CLUB TALK > Stotfold MCC

Old 29-04-2013

Default 12v battery and 4wd tyres

Hi

Thanks to everyone for making my son Josh and I welcome as we looked around over the past couple of weekends.

We are building up to racing our out-of-the-box car in the next couple of weeks and going from there with our racing.

Two quick questions:

1. What capacity of 12v battery should we get to power the charger? I.e. what will we need to charge our lipo battery the 5 times or so it will need? Any recommendations as to where to buy it?

2. What 4wd tyres and inserts should we get? Our buggy is a 4wd and came with tyres out of the box but we thought we'd get some decent tyres on it from the outset. A gentleman did recommend some tyres to us but we forgot what they were by the time we got home! Schumacher mini spike silvers?

Thanks,

Martin.
Old 30-04-2013

Hello mate,

I am completely new to this aswell as I joined at Christmas but haven't managed to get down for any racing yet. Found it hard to find time to build my buggy in between work, entertaining kids and a newborn just arrived. Lol.

Probably should have taken your route and bought a rtr model. As far as 12v battery, I think any old car battery will do but if I am wrong I am sure that one of the other members will put you (and me) straight. I will probably be using the battery from my caravan (its a bit big but should save me a few quid in not having to fork out on another battery).

As far as tyres go, I was told to get schumacher mini spikes green for the wet and yellows for the dry. I think some people use silvers for the wet too. Kev at inside line racing is really helpful and as a Stotfold member you get 5% off all orders and he can bring them to the club which will save on postage. Sure keith or adrian will be able to give you the discount code.