Go Back   oOple.com Forums > General > International fOrums > Ireland

Old 22-08-2011

Default Classes

I know I am relatively new to all this but I see a need for some class re-structuring going into the winter and next year ?
To encourage new drivers into the sport (where even the clubman class has become very fast ) I think possibly a new entry class could be with a 13.5 brushless .This should have the effect of making it easier for a novice as it would be a little slower than the 10.5 class.
I am just mentioning this as at the track anyone who has come to enquire with young kids has commented that it looks too fast for a beginner???
Just something to think about.
Old 23-08-2011
Mad Member

No reason why this cant be done other than having the numbers. I think ideally you would need 4 regulars in any new class to sustain it. This could be difficult at the moment. The 4wd clubman was a great addition to the classes and the competition is very good in it. Maybe 17.5 is the way to go to slow things right down as there isn't much really between a highly geared 13.5 and a 10.5.
Old 23-08-2011
Mad Member

As Ian said there is not much difference between 13.5 and 10.5, 17.5 however, would be slower. You have to remember that if you win the 17.5 clubman then move up to modified, you would get the fright of your life as soon as you touched the throttle. Perhaps then you are looking at 3 classes, Begginer 17.5, Intermediate 10.5 and then Modified. This in my opinion would be the way to encourage new members.
Old 23-08-2011
Mad Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by kartstuffer View Post
I know I am relatively new to all this but I see a need for some class re-structuring going into the winter and next year ?
To encourage new drivers into the sport (where even the clubman class has become very fast ) I think possibly a new entry class could be with a 13.5 brushless .This should have the effect of making it easier for a novice as it would be a little slower than the 10.5 class.