Go Back   oOple.com Forums > General > Electrics

Old 31-01-2013

Default Hobbywing Xtreme Stock or Speed Passion Reventon

Got these two ESCs in mind but have read that Hobbywing and Speed Passion are the same, or very similar.

Not sure which of the two to get. It will be with a 13.5T motor in a touring car if thats relevant.
Old 31-01-2013
Mad Member

Speed Passion used to have a Hobbywing tiie in..

The Reventon Series is now made in house and is nothing to do with Hobbywing
Support from: My Back Pocket

Driver - 'Derek'
Feedback Link : http://www.oople.com/forums/showthread.php?t=48311
Old 31-01-2013

Xtreme stock all the way! Great price and crazy fast without breaking a sweat, best stock esc hands down, my mate just bought a v3.0 and it's twice the price, slower and has no brakes, I have a lot of experience with the different firmware and the stock firmware ending in 0119 or similar is the fastest by far to me, it came in either the v1.64 download or v.1.63 the v3.0 firmware was just not as fast and aggressive i suggest not to update to latest firmware, you need to def get the programme card as well, that is when he magic happens when you apply 50 deg of boost!
Old 31-01-2013

I have the program card for a Hobbywing EZrun ESC. I assume I can use that? Or through the card to a PC and fiddle with the firmwares?
Old 31-01-2013

If ur looking at reventon the pro for £100 and that esc will do any class and has the programmer with it to link to pc so save urself £20 there also, the r is just alway month or 2 behind with updates and the hobbywing is great but his mate must of done something wrong with the v3 if its slow and no brake, I have a v3 also and just as good as any other esc very fast great brakes
Old 31-01-2013

xtreme stock all way. you need that usb program card...
Old 31-01-2013