Go Back   oOple.com Forums > Events & Venues > BRCA Nationals & Regionals

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-05-2008
Southwell Southwell is offline
*SuPeRsTaR mEmBeR*
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Basingstoke
Posts: 4,078
Send a message via MSN to Southwell
Default National wireless coverage

Is there a plan to improve the service which is offered? A couple of decent access points cabled to the edge of the pit area should give pit wide access then.
They could be cabled to someones tent and put inside incase it rains?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-05-2008
niggs98's Avatar
niggs98 niggs98 is offline
Woop Woop Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: birchington kent
Posts: 1,680
Default

would be nice as we havent been able to get a signal for 2 nationals now
__________________
Nathan Ralls HPI, Custom Blitz, www.piraterc.com mr-o foams

woop woop racing officialy keeping team toe out inline
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-05-2008
Danny McGee's Avatar
Danny McGee Danny McGee is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 718
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by niggs98 View Post
would be nice as we havent been able to get a signal for 2 nationals now

Must admit i did hear that quite alot this weekend. Anyone knows whats happened from last year? Are there no funds to "update" it all. Im sure it would be highly appreciated.
__________________
Schumacher - NOSRAM - TrishBits -
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-05-2008
super__dan's Avatar
super__dan super__dan is offline
#1 ZX5 fan
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,458
Default

I think we all realise that in the scheme of everything in running the national this is obviously down the list of priorities. However it is such a usefull service and from last year one we all got used to having. I think Sleigh was involved in trying to improve the signal for last weekend but it didn't work out for whatever reason. Perhaps if/when he reads this he can let us know?
__________________


Nortech is ACE!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-05-2008
Southwell Southwell is offline
*SuPeRsTaR mEmBeR*
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Basingstoke
Posts: 4,078
Send a message via MSN to Southwell
Default

IF my workmate goes to another school that we gave equipment to then perhaps he can give me some of the 26 access points we chucked out last year
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-05-2008
stuartw stuartw is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 301
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by niggs98 View Post
would be nice as we havent been able to get a signal for 2 nationals now
The program that you run has been modified, so if you are running the "old" version you may experience problems.
It would be interesting to know from people who have the latest version if they are receiving ok?

At Kiddy, we had the Hub located on the rostrum - some people had no issues at all, whilst others closer to the track did have issues.
For Oswestry the Hub was connected via wi-fi to race control and was located in Phils tent, at the top left hand corner of the track as viewed from the rostrum (i will let Phil explain the techie bit if you really need to know ).
Both the commentators laptop and the referee's laptop on the rostrum were also connected to the Hub via wi-fi. During the 2wd event, neither of those could maintain a signal, so we reverted back to having the Hub in Race Control and connected the commentator screen via cable, and the rostrum screen stayed connected via wi-fi. If I remember correctly, no further issues arose on those screens on Saturday.
However, using the same setup on Sunday for 4wd, we seemed fine for approx 3 rounds of qualifying, but lost signal after that and could not see a wireless Network at all.
As a last resort we powered off the Hub and plugged it back in again, connectivity was then re-established. I think that the Hub came out in sympathy with us as it was fairly warm.

We are working to try and resolve the problem, but hopefully you will agree that the commentry screen and ref's screen should take priority in these situations, over the "nice to have" screens in the pits.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-05-2008
Body Paint's Avatar
Body Paint Body Paint is offline
*SuPeRsTaR mEmBeR*
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Newport, South Wales
Posts: 2,001
Default

Totally agree Stuart, rostrum and race control must take priority. Would it be totally impractical to hardwire the rostrum laptop?

I heard several people at Os saying they had interferance on 2.4ghz on the weekend, very strange things like the car turning off and driving round in a circle before regaining control.

I wonder if there was something local affecting the wi-fi signal aswell, that is 2.4ghz isn't it? Or could the on the rostrum hub going on and off actually been creating the interferance?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-05-2008
Southwell Southwell is offline
*SuPeRsTaR mEmBeR*
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Basingstoke
Posts: 4,078
Send a message via MSN to Southwell
Default

Would a wired setup for officals laptop be a better solution anyway, or is that not fiesable? Having not seen your equipment it is possible that too many people are trying to connect to a 'home grade' hub (if thats what it is) and causing drop outs?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-05-2008
MattW's Avatar
MattW MattW is online now
Mad Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 1,230
Send a message via MSN to MattW
Default

We couldn't get much at Kiddy - it was hit and miss on sat, and nothing on sun.

This weekend it wasn't too bad on saturday - but not great. Really surprised to hear where the gear was in Phil's tent, as i really wasn't that far from there, would have expected a much better signal to be honest, based on what we had most of last year.

Sunday i didn't bother getting laptop out, as screen had died on sat, and it wasn't all that great looking at netscreen with all colors effectively inverted - not happy with 15 month old HP laptop.
__________________
Matthew White - Schumacher - Hobbywing - PBM
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-05-2008
Southwell Southwell is offline
*SuPeRsTaR mEmBeR*
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Basingstoke
Posts: 4,078
Send a message via MSN to Southwell
Default

Could be the inverter board up the pan?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-05-2008
DCM's Avatar
DCM DCM is offline
Spends too long on oOple ...
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Marvelous South Wales!!
Posts: 8,816
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Body Paint View Post
I wonder if there was something local affecting the wi-fi signal aswell, that is 2.4ghz isn't it? Or could the on the rostrum hub going on and off actually been creating the interferance?
I dunno, as I understand, the 2.4GHz system is just a carrier wave for a digitaly encoded signal, that the receiver is bound to the transmitter, and it has parity checking, so it there was an error on the parity check, you get a signal drop-out not errant activities.

With sudden shutdowns, it is usualy voltage supply to the receiver, and it being warm, may have affected it more.
__________________
dragon paints : team tekin : fusion hobbies :SCHUMACHER RACING : Nuclear R/C for all my sticky and slippery stuff - if it needs gluing or lubing, Nuclear RC is the man!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
oOple.com