Go Back   oOple.com Forums > General > Electrics

Old 04-12-2006

Default Motor too much?

Hi, would a standard Tamiya Gear Box be able to handle an Orion Modified 10x3 motor? If not any suggestions of a good motor to run for extra power? I'm just getting into this and whilst I'm a beginner and therefore a bit clueless, I would still like some speed.
Old 04-12-2006
Administrator

it really depends what car you are talking about - also depends on what you mean "take it"
the lower end tamiya cars with some modern gearbox designs might be able to take the power in terms of gear strength - but they migth have plastic motor mounts which wont cool the motor, and also might warp if they get very hot.

and of course a really fast motor in a car that doesnt handle well wont make much difference over a slower motor. I saw one of their latest 2wd buggys recently, it was really quite bad handling with the friction shocks.. add some proper shocks and it would have been SO much better.
Old 04-12-2006

Thanks Jimmy. I just bought it on ebay cos I didn't want to buy new yet. THought I'd buy a used set up and see if I enjoy myself. Its a Tamiya Desert Gator which got an ok review I think in Racer mag. Will probably need some work on the shocks and motor mounting by the sound of it. If I enjoy myself it I'll probably go for a Losi or Associated after, once I know what I'm doing a bit more.

I'm new to the whole scene, but may come along to the Batley meeting on Sunday and pester the regulars with stupid questions. DO you get many newbies turning up looking a bit daft like me?
Old 04-12-2006
Administrator

I think thats the exact car I was talking about. The new habit of including friction shocks seems really wierd by Tamiya - it makes for a very hard car to drive indeed since it cant really get the power down when it is bouncing.
It actually looks a good car, its just a shame it has friction shocks.