Go Back   oOple.com Forums > Car Talk > Tamiya

Old 18-10-2013

Talking db01 v's df03 ?

hi as a complete noob i was wondering which kit is best for me , i have only ever built tamiya kits and not for a few years , i would be using it for bashing about but like to set it up as best as poss including up grades etc any help gtatefully received and or is there better for about the same money?
Old 18-10-2013

The DB01 out classes the DF03 in every way.

Both will cost you a huge fortune to up grade.

The DF03MS is a well hoped up kit straight from the box

http://www.stellamodels.com.hk/84370...on-p-7688.html

And the DB01R (if you can find one) is the hoped up kit.

But you can get the DB01RR now.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Tamiya-84369...-/331035477488

Titchfield Off Road Club Hants

www.huntersystems.co.uk
Old 18-10-2013

I've looked recently at the DF03MS but not pulled the trigger on one. It has alloy gears which are prone to wear, and aftermarket steel replacements are rare as hens teeth.

I bought a used DB-01 Durga racer, hopped it up with some alloy 3racing parts and a slipper. It was a great strip and rebuild, quite technical at times and certainly one to take time over numerous evenings. It's a quality piece of kit.

I then stumbled on a ex racer DB-01R in Hungary, won it for less than £80 delivered and rebuilt that. Because it has do many hop ups to start with it was a very economical buy.

The plastic quality of the db-01 is in another league to the DF cars, yes the latest release of the -MS has lots of hop ups and TRF dampers but is a shorter wheelbase car and less tolerant when running.
Old 05-12-2013

Quote:
Originally Posted by super gripper View Post
Both will cost you a huge fortune to up grade.
+1