Go Back   oOple.com Forums > Events & Venues > CLUB TALK > Gloucester Electric Racing Car Club

Old 28-12-2011

Exclamation Newbie

Good evening,

I am considering getting into rc car racing. I would be a complete novice but hoping for abit more information as to what is required in order to race.

What sort of spec car would i need in order to be eligiable to race.

Also any recommendation of cars would be much appreciated.

Cheers
Old 29-12-2011

Well if you are near Gloucester I would recommend coming down and seeing the classes of car that we race. You can make a better decision once you see the cars in action. We race 1/10 touring, mini/Mardave, F1/GT10 and currently also 1/10 buggy.
I would go for either the mini class or touring if I were you. Also people are often selling second hand cars at the club, the cost of starting racing really is pretty low.
Old 29-12-2011
*SuPeRsTaR mEmBeR*

If the answer is yes then it makes the recommendation simple - go for a Mardave. Why a Mardave? Well again they are simple, easy to work on, not much to go wrong and not much to confuse yourself with setup wise. They are small and thus suit the track size very well for a novice.
If the answer is NO then it becomes harder to choose so let’s try and help you.
Next question would be "do I want to be able to run my car anywhere, including jumps etc. or am I more of a flat tarmac sort of guy?"
So what are the difference between on-road and off-road racing, assuming that both are 1/10th electric classes for now so you can race them at Insworth?