Go Back   oOple.com Forums > Car Talk > Schumacher

Old 20-02-2010

Default I'm super discouraged!!!

I raced my cat sx today for the first time and have to say I have my doubts about this car, as bad as that is to say!!!!

I was racing on a dirt track

In practice a harmless slide at low speed on my rear wheel resulted in a broken hub....a couple of high jump landings resulted in two broken arms(both broken at the pivot pin) and two bent aluminum pivot blocks(both left front)

I am by no means a expert racer but I have been mucking around in the hobby for 20 years and have never experienced anything like this. To have broken different parts would have been understandable, but to have the same part break in the same way from landing a jump clean stinks!!!

The car bottoms out in a thud all the time, I know what you will say, put stiffer springs. I did, didn't help.

I know Shumacher has softer arms and plastic pivot blocks as option parts, will changing them help or is this kind of breaking normal. My question is this, what do I have to change to make this buggy last like a 500 dollar buggy should?
Old 20-02-2010
Spends too long on oOple ...

How big are the jumps and what oil are you using etc.

Broken v little on my Cat SX so far. Had it since June last year.

Any big bolders on the track?
Old 20-02-2010
Lion-O - King of the Thundercats

Send a message via MSN to bigred5765 Send a message via Skype™ to bigred5765

was it very cold?? plastic gets brittle when its cold, having said that we have never had problems like that, and we have tested are old car big time.
Old 20-02-2010

No bolders, the jumps give about 2 feet of air.

I'm using 40 weight oil and lellow spings. I though ti might have to do with the lipo being on the left, because every time I corrected my car with the throttle the car tilted left mid air

I'll post a picture of the track
Old 20-02-2010
Mad Member

Have you done the droop mods with longer shock bottom ends ?