Go Back   oOple.com Forums > General > Electrics

Old 26-10-2009

Send a message via MSN to chris_trcc
Default Novak 10.5 motor timing

im new to the timing of the brushless motors i just seem to buy and run the motor as it is. but as there people that just seem to outpower me i looked in to this method slighly. after trying to do correct pinion sizes, and hoping for a little advise. i know if i adjust the ring anti-clockwise it produces more rpm which i am after. but to what extend can i adjust is too without damaging the motor internally. the motor i got was 2nd hand and the ring was fully clockwise posision so now i got it set 2/3rds of the full movment is this ok? will it be best to run a cooler with a fan on to reassure the motor tempertures dont get high. cheers
Old 26-10-2009
oOple Advertiser

I got these from another forum.

It's the standard positions for the Novak Velocity motors, factory timing, full advanced, full reduced.

MiCk B. :-)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Factory.jpg (35.8 KB, 42 views)
File Type: jpg advanced.jpg (33.6 KB, 40 views)
File Type: jpg Reduced.jpg (27.2 KB, 39 views)

http://www.p-dubracing.co.uk
(Stocking: 8Racing / AVID / GHEA / Xpert Racing / Factory R/C / Alton Design Innovations)

http://www.msdmodels.ie/
(Trackside and on-line RC supplies.)

Old 26-10-2009

if u time up the motor you gain top end but lose torque, and its anti clockwise looking at the wires end.
ideally u want a speedo with timing advance feature which might say to set the timing to '0' because it changes the timing depending on speed

Compositekit.co.uk
Trishbits
Old 26-10-2009
Spends too long on oOple ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by chris_trcc View Post
i know if i adjust the ring anti-clockwise it produces more rpm which i am after. but to what extend can i adjust is too without damaging the motor internally
are you running NiMh or LiPo re being out powered?

more revs = smaller pinion than you would use with standard timing